Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2008, 12:25 PM   #1
Streetfighter
 
Streetfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: (0)
Streetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sr20 Lower harness Help needed

Need alittle help...my swap is almost done.

it was a 240 auto...just so we all know what we're dealing with.

the lower SR20 harness (not the KA) has only 1 plug on it that connects to the middle plug of the row of 3 plugs on the passenger fuse box. is this correct?

i unplugged and removed the altinator/starter harness from the KA completely...it unplugged off 3 plugs on the side of the ecu facing the motor on the passenger side.

so if i remove the KA lower harness entirely....and plug the 1 plug from the SR lower harness in the middle of 3 plugs on the passenger ECU...thats it?

thanks!
Streetfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-14-2008, 12:47 PM   #2
BoostinGST
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: (0)
BoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant futureBoostinGST has a brilliant future
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you should just reuse the stock lower harness... i went through alot of trouble trying to mate the sr harness to the car and ended up spending $250 on a new harness from the dealership, just a warning so you dont make that mistake.
__________________
www.DecalsStore.com custom decals... buy a premie account and save money from me
BoostinGST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 12:54 PM   #3
Streetfighter
 
Streetfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: (0)
Streetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostinGST View Post
you should just reuse the stock lower harness... i went through alot of trouble trying to mate the sr harness to the car and ended up spending $250 on a new harness from the dealership, just a warning so you dont make that mistake.
mine was an auto...

and the tranny wires do not mate with the stock KA lower harness...instructions on heavy throttle says use SR harness..
Streetfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:41 PM   #4
Z U L8R
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Z U L8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Age: 38
Posts: 1,194
Trader Rating: (0)
Z U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
use the ka harness that came with ur car
last time i checked the z32 maf pinout on heavy throttle wasn't correct either ^_^

just like the tach signal wire on an sr20 is 1 notch over than apexi's website, if you're wiring in an safc using apexi's ecu pinout for an s13 sr20 ^_^

use the ka harness that came with ur car

bridge the park neutral wires together, oval grey 2 wire plug (thick black/white & brown wire) together, deal with whatever connector swaps you need to do ie starter solenoid, voila

Dave =]
__________________
RB25 280z GT30/76R 441hp/381tq [email protected]
Z U L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:45 PM   #5
Streetfighter
 
Streetfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: (0)
Streetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z U L8R View Post
use the ka harness that came with ur car

last time i checked the z32 maf pinout on heavy throttle wasn't correct either ^_^

just like the tach signal wire on an sr20 is 1 notch over if you're wiring in an safc using apexi's ecu pinouts ^_^

bridge the park neutral wires together, oval grey 2 wire plug (thick black/white & brown wire) together, deal with whatever connector swaps you need to do ie starter solenoid, voila

Dave =]
what about the wires coming out of the SR tranny...the speed sensor and so forth...
Streetfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 03:13 PM   #6
Z U L8R
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Z U L8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Age: 38
Posts: 1,194
Trader Rating: (0)
Z U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the sr speed sensor should plug into your auto lower harness, however it's a jdm motor/tranny, so the speed sensor reads for Kilometers, you need a ka 5spd speed sensor for it to read correctly. the other wires, clip off or tuck up, the only other sensor you even need (if u even care about it) would be your reverse lights.

i don't want to type up an autobiography on how to do it right now, so if you really really really wanna get ur reverse lights to work, identify which switch is the reverse light switch on the sr tranny (you can put the shifter in reverse then check the 2 wires for continuity to isolate it) then look up your auto tranny schematic for your reverse lighst, and run those to wires to the 2 wire reverse light switch and VOILA lol

Dave =]
__________________
RB25 280z GT30/76R 441hp/381tq [email protected]
Z U L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 03:36 PM   #7
g6civcx
Post Whore!
 
g6civcx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,764
Trader Rating: (5)
g6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfectiong6civcx is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z U L8R View Post
last time i checked the z32 maf pinout on heavy throttle wasn't correct either ^_^

just like the tach signal wire on an sr20 is 1 notch over than apexi's website, if you're wiring in an safc using apexi's ecu pinout for an s13 sr20 ^_^
Be very careful with wiring diagram you find online. Always double check and verify. People are not careful and may post bad info by mistake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z U L8R View Post
the sr speed sensor should plug into your auto lower harness, however it's a jdm motor/tranny, so the speed sensor reads for Kilometers, you need a ka 5spd speed sensor for it to read correctly.
You may want to check this part before Russ shows up.
g6civcx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 05:31 PM   #8
projectRDM
Post Whore!
 
projectRDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Age: 46
Posts: 13,812
Trader Rating: (12)
projectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z U L8R View Post
the sr speed sensor should plug into your auto lower harness, however it's a jdm motor/tranny, so the speed sensor reads for Kilometers, you need a ka 5spd speed sensor for it to read correctly. the other wires, clip off or tuck up, the only other sensor you even need (if u even care about it) would be your reverse lights.

i don't want to type up an autobiography on how to do it right now, so if you really really really wanna get ur reverse lights to work, identify which switch is the reverse light switch on the sr tranny (you can put the shifter in reverse then check the 2 wires for continuity to isolate it) then look up your auto tranny schematic for your reverse lighst, and run those to wires to the 2 wire reverse light switch and VOILA lol

Dave =]
Dave, you should know better. The JDM and US speed sensors are the exact same, either one will read either cluster. Only differences in VSSs come from auto/manual and S13/S14.

To the OP, you haven't read anything if you're asking. Use the existing KA lower harness, everything plugs in, starter, alternator, and oil pressure switch.
For the transmission, the VSS plugs right in, the reverse switch is hardwired (if you even need it), and the starter inhibit is jumped in the plug. There is nothing else required, you should be done with it in less than 5 minutes.
__________________
FORMERLY R240NA

Learn what's really going on and protect your assets now before they're gone forever: www.paypalsucks.com
projectRDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 05:45 PM   #9
joel.fox
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Age: 31
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
joel.fox is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Man I wish someone had asked this question a couple weeks ago. I just finished doing this on my SR swap and I wouldn't have been able to do it if it wasn't for a good buddy of mine providing a stock KA lower wiring harness. I did a real number on my original one, thinking I wouldn't need it. It's much easier to start with a fresh and uncut lower wiring harness. Once you have it, and the old one is off your motor it will all be clear. Spend some money and source a new lower wiring harness, that's probably your best bet.
joel.fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 06:05 PM   #10
sblack13
Zilvia FREAK!
 
sblack13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle
Age: 33
Posts: 1,016
Trader Rating: (10)
sblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud ofsblack13 has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
I don't think you can use the dohc/sr lower harness on a sohc car or vice versa. One plug is different for the fuse box.
sblack13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 08:49 PM   #11
Z U L8R
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Z U L8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Age: 38
Posts: 1,194
Trader Rating: (0)
Z U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
using a dohc lower harness on a sohc car i've ran into issues like the dash lights staying on and the efi relay clicking it's ass off, then i put the original lower harness that came with the car and problem solved (stupid red plug missing)

@project rdm, my first car was back in 2000 i had an s14 with an s13 blacktop sr, and i had to swap the sr speed sensor with a ka speed sensor, i would go 10mph and it would say i'm going 30mph....i swapped em and problem solved. (of course 8 years ago i didn't know what i do now, and i've never given the vss's another thought besides mechanical vs elec), but in my defense! he said his 240 was an auto but he didn't say whether he had an s13 or s14 :P but good call none the less HI-5 i was presumptious (sp) and i've been working on a lot of s14's lately :P (plus i just bought one to daily drive while my 510 gets its roll cage/paint)

@g6civc "Be very careful with wiring diagram you find online. Always double check and verify. People are not careful and may post bad info by mistake"
that's what i was saying.....we're all capable of mistakes and misprints......as well as presumptions :P

gl street figher & take care fellas,
Dave =]
__________________
RB25 280z GT30/76R 441hp/381tq [email protected]
Z U L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 08:56 PM   #12
Streetfighter
 
Streetfighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: VA
Posts: 41
Trader Rating: (0)
Streetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enoughStreetfighter will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thank you for the help guys, much appreciated. i will use the stock KA lower harness and figure out the tranny wires.

i will take some pics soon so i can be alittle clearer.
Streetfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 08:24 PM   #13
Z U L8R
Zilvia FREAK!
 
Z U L8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Georgia
Age: 38
Posts: 1,194
Trader Rating: (0)
Z U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond reputeZ U L8R has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
only because i just did it tonight and it's still fresh in my brain, only possible issue is it was on an automatic s14, so it may be different (but not much) for an s13 *shrug

the auto tranny harness vehicle speed sensor wire colors
speed sensor wire colors Red/yellow and the other wire was red


the reverse lights on the auto harness were green/white stripe and the other was green

which go to the first little sensor towards the front of the car on the side of the tranny. should have an oval grey plug. you can always put it in reverse and check for continuity

if your car's not an s14. and the wire colors are totally different, turn the key to the on position. grab all the plugs on your tranny's lower harness. take a paperclip and jump the 2 pin plugs. the one that makes your reverse lights come on is your jewel. wire that into your trannies reverse switch.

Dave =]
__________________
RB25 280z GT30/76R 441hp/381tq [email protected]
Z U L8R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 07:38 AM   #14
snowmants
Leaky Injector
 
snowmants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: (0)
snowmants is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z U L8R View Post

the reverse lights on the auto harness were green/white stripe and the other was green


Dave =]

These are the colors on the KA harness you are talking about right? Not the SR harness? Thanks.
snowmants is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™