Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 05-06-2019, 03:41 PM   #1
Jacobkononiuk

Trader Rating: (0)
Jacobkononiuk is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sr20det ringing/grinding noise

hey guys, my apologies for creating a new thread, I'm quite new to this and couldn't find any already existing threads relating to the issue that I'm having.

I've got a bone stock 94' s14 s1 with a blacktop sr20det. the other day, I changed the oil, oil filter and spark plugs. upon doing this, there were no noises coming from the car.

When I started the car after the service, I could somewhat hear a grinding noise coming from the engine. Its not overly loud, barley noticeable from the cabin but with the hood popped and the boys having a closer listen it was definitely identifiable.

The funny thing is, it ONLY appears when IN any GEAR! it dissapears in neutral. The clutch feels as it should, there has been no issues with the car for over 10,000km.

I've had various opinions such as; timing chain/tensioners, the oil being too thin or throw out bearing.

any help would be appreciated!

p.s. we used 10w50 full synthetic oil and NKG BKR7E spark plugs. all went in smoothly.
Jacobkononiuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-06-2019, 03:45 PM   #2
mewantkouki
Zilvia FREAK!

Trader Rating: (36)
mewantkouki will become famous soon enoughmewantkouki will become famous soon enoughmewantkouki will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 36 reviews
Does the grinding go away when you push the clutch pedal in?
mewantkouki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 03:58 PM   #3
Jacobkononiuk

Jacobkononiuk is an unknown quantity at this point