Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat > Builds (and builds only)

Builds (and builds only) Got a build thread? It goes here, build threads anywhere else on the forum will be locked and never moved.

Old 10-13-2013, 12:23 AM   #1
mpact1981
Zilvia Member

Trader Rating: (1)
mpact1981 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
s13 Slow progress S13 LS build

This build is already a year old but now that noticeable differences are finally happening and mistakes already being made I decided I should start documenting things more accurately and maybe get some tips along the way. By the way, I HAVE NEVER DONE MORE THAN SIMPLE MAINTENANCE BEFORE STARTING THIS PROJECT! I'm not some professional welder that's built 200 race cars like some of you, so cut me some slack... I also have a job and a family, along with deployments to deal with so this build will not happen overnight.

So, a little over a year ago my wife's sister called me and said she blew the engine in her 93' 240SX and wanted to know if I still wanted it. All I had to do was go pick it up from the mechanics shop. TITS!

Only problem was I lived in NC and the car was in Louisiana. So my brother in LA gets the car and for just under $500 I get it shipped to my house in NC (6 months later)

Her mechanic was partially correct. low compression on 2 cylinders. It would have been nice if it was a quick fix but I had no desire to rebuild a Ka. The car was bone stock. I thought I got lucky seeing 5 lugs in the first picture but I soon realized when I got the car that they were hub caps.

First things first, I knew that engine had to come out. Being the typical drunk idiot in the garage, I started unplugging and unbolting everything without labeling shit, or even knowing what most of it was for that matter...