PDA

View Full Version : Modifying the sr20det

ryzozS13
11-13-2003, 05:16 PM
I'm new to all of this, but I have a good concept of it all. I was wondering what are good steps for upgrading the sr20det. I have Intake,downpipe/straighpipe/apexi duel n1 and an HKS bov. My sidemount is a little bit beat up, would it be a good investment to get an HKS frontmount Intercooler kit first? I plan to upgrade the turbo, but I don't have the money right now. Are there other steps that would be better to do first? thanks

harryhood
11-13-2003, 06:10 PM
Definatly invest in some kind of fmic. You need a fuel pump also. Look for a boost controller and some way to tune your car as well. I'm using the ka radiator right now but will eventually upgrade when it starts to heat up, if you get a front mount and start turning up the boost a beefier radiator with some electric fans would come in handy. Some of this you don't exactly "need" right now but if you plan up upgrading the turbo you will have to get it all anyways.

MadChild
11-13-2003, 07:10 PM
take each step slowly. First of all you should get a new raditor and possible new electrionic fan. Don't worry about boosting untill you have your cooling down. Next still don't worry about boosting untill you get a new fuel pump such as the walbro or 300zx or something similiar, you get the idea. Then after all this have been accomplish get your FMIC, you will have a way better turbo response with one then without one. After you accomplish all the steps above then go out to purchase a boost controller (manual or electronic), and you should diffantly get it tune at the dyno, or you can get a SAFC.

stp9154
11-13-2003, 07:17 PM
Just want to add one little thing, I would definitely get RAS's before getting all those other goodies. Cheap but very helpful.

SX_Drifter
11-13-2003, 11:45 PM