Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > S Chassis

S Chassis Technical discussion related to the S Chassis such as the S12, S13, S14, and S15.

Old 05-25-2013, 01:28 AM   #1
Mikester
Nissanaholic!

Trader Rating: (0)
Mikester is a well-known jackass
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
s13 Battery relocation ground...

Hey everyone-

So I put my battery box in... Best I could get for a ground from anywhere on the chassis to any other point on the chassis was 0.2 ohms.... So I chose the strut tower; and got 0.2 ohms from the negative terminal to that & anywhere I could get to on the chassis.

Just wondering if 0.2 ohms is okay... I've never done a battery relocation before.

Thanks!

Mikle
Old 05-25-2013, 04:54 AM   #2
dbeiler
Zilvia Junkie

Trader Rating: (4)
dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler dbeiler
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
0.2 ohms is plenty. Technically, the continuity check doesn't mean much here (Testing a piece of headphone wiring will give you 0.2 ohms). In this case, it's all about using the path of least resistance. You'll want to connect to a pre-existing bolt in the vehicle frame. Do NOT drill holes in the frame; if necessary, tap a pre-existing hole. Remember to use a negative/ground cable wire size equal to, or larger than, your positive cable wire size. To ensure a solid electrical connection, remove any paint or rust from your frame electrical connection point. Best of luck to ya!
dbeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:04 AM   #3
blueshark123
Post Whore!

Trader Rating: (55)