Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.

Old 09-07-2014, 05:27 PM   #1
2plus4plus0eq6
Zilvia Junkie

Trader Rating: (0)
2plus4plus0eq6 is making his/her stupidity well-known2plus4plus0eq6 is making his/her stupidity well-known2plus4plus0eq6 is making his/her stupidity well-known2plus4plus0eq6 is making his/her stupidity well-known
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SR Minor Idle/boost problems

Hello,

I have an '89 with a s14 sr20det. I tried searching, but couldn't find anything specific for my situation. I am still learning this stuff, but don't really know what air/fuel ratios are normal. I want to install my manual boost controller and turn it up to 12psi, but want to fix a couple things first.

I just recently got my car back from an auto shop. They installed my air/fuel (with wideband sensor) and boost gauge. At idle I am reading about 25hg vacuum (Too high - too low?) and only hitting about 5 psi of boost at WOT. The factory boost solenoid is gone so I thought I would be seeing around 11psi if not at least 7psi.

A/R is reading between 11-15 at idle and hitting like 22 at WOT. Is this normal? I know 14.7 is a magic number, but better to run rich in an induction application to avoid leaning out because of the turbo. 22 seems really lean. I don't want to blow something up before I turn up the boost.

Coming to a stop will stall the engine if not slowing down real gradually. I kinda have to feather the pedal. I am wondering if a boost leak is causing this. I will do a leak test when I get sometime.

Please let me know what a/r numbers I should be aiming for. I am running 94 octane btw.

Thanks for the help
Old 09-14-2014, 12:16 AM   #2
2plus4plus0eq6
Zilvia Junkie