Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 01-14-2015, 09:38 PM   #1
jhilpert

Trader Rating: (0)
jhilpert is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Casual Engine Swap

I've just got a '90 240 back in November and my stock ka24e has a hairline crack in the head and some other minor issues. It's still totally drivable, although I'm not sure how long. It's got 200,000+ miles on the engine and transmission.

I've been looking into the different engine swaps that are popular on the 240s for the sole reason that my mechanic wants around 2,000 to replace/repair the stock motor or whatever, and I figure if I'm going to spend that much I might as well get some more horsepower out of it.

I'm just a casual driver, I'm 17 years old in my last semester of high school, so I'm not drifting at the track or dragging at the strip every weekend, but I'm still interested in more power for some spirited, but safe, road driving.

I'm leaning towards the sr20det blacktop after the research I've done. It just seems like the best way to go for me and I can see why it seems to be the most done swap. Although I also think it would be mad to swap a rb25det or even a vq (even though I don't know which one would be best).

So yeah, I just wanted to reach out to you guys who are infinitely more well informed on this stuff (I'm not going to pretend I know what I'm talking about, but I'm really eager to learn). What do you guys think?

EDIT: sorry if there was another thread to ask this question in

Last edited by jhilpert; 01-14-2015 at 09:39 PM.. Reason: post script
jhilpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-14-2015, 09:49 PM   #2
Ramonesfreak2010
Zilvia Addict

Trader Rating: (11)
Ramonesfreak2010 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews