Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
S14 KA acting wierd (video of whats going on)

I uploaded a video of how its acting. I disconnected the fuel line and its getting fuel. She starts up sometimes after giving her a little gas. All fuses and relays are good to go. I dont see any shorts or anything. Any ideas?

Last thing I did to the car was put the LED lights in the dash. I dont know if that might have anything to do with it.


http://youtu.be/t89IFQud0Cs
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-08-2012, 08:42 PM   #2
JSimpson
Banned from the Marketplace
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: (15)
JSimpson is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
thats the weirdest thing I've ever seen
JSimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:53 PM   #3
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Anybody have any ideas? Im lost. Im thinking it might be the alternator not giving out power in the higher rpms. MAYBE?
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 02:07 PM   #4
laurentj23
Zilvia Junkie
 
laurentj23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chattanooga,TN
Age: 36
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: (1)
laurentj23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
1. Pull the code and see wht it says.
2. Sounds like the plugs or cables. When did you have it replaced?
__________________

'Born Ready!',LJ
laurentj23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 04:38 PM   #5
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
The only codes on the car are from having an AT ECU.

Ill change the plugs and cables and see what happens, because its been a while. Would that still make every relay click?
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:05 PM   #6
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Still doing the same thing. Any ideas?
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:36 PM   #7
trevor34
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: iowa
Age: 34
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: (6)
trevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymore
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Have you checked your battery voltage as you rev it? Just a thought but it is a really weird issue.
trevor34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:41 PM   #8
rebornS14
Zilvia FREAK!
 
rebornS14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cerritos, CA
Posts: 1,358
Trader Rating: (13)
rebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of lightrebornS14 is a glorious beacon of light
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rebornS14
i had the same issue when my alternator got over worked by my braille battery. both died on me and i had the same symptoms before it completely shut off on me.

i would start with the battery and alternator. i bet you have a small battery or a cheap one from autoparts store. those cheap full sizes are crap too.
__________________
rebornS14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:46 PM   #9
trevor34
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: iowa
Age: 34
Posts: 459
Trader Rating: (6)
trevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymoretrevor34 is not welcome here anymore
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebornS14 View Post
i had the same issue when my alternator got over worked by my braille battery. both died on me and i had the same symptoms before it completely shut off on me.

i would start with the battery and alternator. i bet you have a small battery or a cheap one from autoparts store. those cheap full sizes are crap too.
+1 I would start there if not a new ecu maybe.
trevor34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:53 PM   #10
ghettohatch
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: redlands
Age: 33
Posts: 169
Trader Rating: (7)
ghettohatch is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
i would check ignition, distributor and back, important grounds, such as ecu ground, anything really obvious, if fuel and spark and air/compression are in spec check sensors and anything else related to efi.
ghettohatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:52 PM   #11
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Thought it was the dizzy, changed and still nothing. Weird now there is no fuel coming out from the fuel filter and ALL of my dash warning lights dont turn on. The air bag and CEL were always on. Thing just cranks now...


Any ideas?
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 06:19 PM   #12
josBcls
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
josBcls is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
check your maf
josBcls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 08:30 PM   #13
Taylor008
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utah
Age: 28
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: (1)
Taylor008 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The CEL is powered by the ECU. When it flickers, the ecu is actually dying and coming back to life, that's why your engine is cutting out.

I'm not sure what it has to do with over 3k rpm's, though. You need to check your main ignition power wire. Underneath your steering column there is a plug coming from your ignition switch. The white wire will have 12v with key off, engine off. Switched 12v there is going to be a black wire with a red stripe.

The reason your dummy lights don't come on is because this wire is the same wire that connects to something called your bulb check relay so you can see that all your lights work when you turn your key to the ON position without starting your car.

It's the same reason you're not getting fuel. S chassis computers supply a switch for the grounding of the fuel pump. If your ECU cannot power on, it doesn't flip the switch.

What I would do if I were you was check my ignition wires. Take off your surround for the steering wheel so you can see the ignition and harnesses. Also take out your cluster, make sure everything is tight. If your cluster is grounding out then it is taking all the juice from your 12v wire, leaving your ecu high and dry for voltage. Maybe around 3k RPM you get a vibration that moves some wires towards a short. An easy way to check this theory is to unplug your cluster and try starting your car.

You may have to check your engine control fuses in your engine bay now that you are getting no power whatsoever. Let me know what you find.
Taylor008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 09:32 AM   #14
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Thanks, Im going to check it in a few.
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:38 PM   #15
drewce
 
drewce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: toronto
Age: 27
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
drewce is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
End up finding the problem?
drewce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:46 AM   #16
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
The wiring behind the cluster looks good. Nothing is grounding out or binding. Im gonna try and replace the ECU and see. The harness to the ECU is getting power, checked it with a volt meter.
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:06 PM   #17
Taylor008
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utah
Age: 28
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: (1)
Taylor008 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Hmmm red/black wire? Solid red is constant 12v.

Alternator switches the relay for bulb check. Look into that if ecu doesn't work.
Taylor008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 03:17 PM   #18
Johns240sxLE
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Taneytown, MD
Age: 41
Posts: 2
Trader Rating: (0)
Johns240sxLE is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check your fuel filter for water and clogging. Mine was doing the same thing for a while. Easy cheap fix. 1997 KADE intake only front side mod.
Johns240sxLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 05:29 PM   #19
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Yup solid red has constant on there. So next imma try the ECU. Im going to see if I get one from a forum member.
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:49 PM   #20
Taylor008
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utah
Age: 28
Posts: 135
Trader Rating: (1)
Taylor008 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
No, red SHOULD have constant 12v, that's a different circuit. Thats not your problem. You need to check the black/red wire for voltage. That's black with red stripe. Its 12gauge. It is connected to one of your relays behind your ecu (iirc, don't have an s14). When you turn your ignition to 'on', this wire goes hot. Check that for voltage with the key ON.

If you dont, carry on. Make sure you checked your fuses BTW or this will be a waste of time.

Next, look under your steering column for that ignition switch plug. There will be a thick white wire, that should have constant 12v. Your ignition takes the power from that wire and distributes it via your ignition switch.

If you have constant 12v on the white wire, keep going.

Plug your ignition switch back in and turn the key to ON. Stab through the plastic sheathing on the black/red wire with your multi meter. Do it after the ignition switch plug, so like, the body harness side of the plug. Make sense?

Tell me if it has 12v. Just do these tests real quick, I dont think its your ECU. It may be your ignition switch. Or a number of other things...
Taylor008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:01 AM   #21
Walperstyle
Nissanaholic!
 
Walperstyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Alberta, Red Derp
Age: 39
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: (0)
Walperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really niceWalperstyle is just really nice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Walperstyle
Ignition or fuel issue. Kinda hard to pinpoint, but you changed plugs and wires, so that is a start. Next would try swapping fuel pump just to see if it makes any difference.

Also, put a wrench up to your ear, and listen to each cylinder when it does this, maybe you can pinpoint where its coming from.
__________________
KA-T ORG-Function over Flush
Walperstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 06:35 PM   #22
Kaifd3s
Zilvia Addict
 
Kaifd3s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Age: 34
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: (16)
Kaifd3s is on the path to ruinKaifd3s is on the path to ruin
Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Swapped the ECU today and the warning lights came on for a couple cranks and then they totally disappeared. Im going to check the black/red wire tomorrow. Ill let you know what I find.
__________________
Kaifd3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™