Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
RB25DET s13 wont start

I have a S13 and I just swapped in a RB25DET. I am at the last stages of the swap and ready to fire it up. Cranks but will not run. I am getting fuel, spark and I did a compression test. Also I pulled my front cover off and the timing is on point. WHAT THE FAWK! Help Please
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-30-2012, 07:12 PM   #2
S13Gene
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: (0)
S13Gene is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
have you tried starting it without the maf? is the battery charged? if it has all that you said in theory it should start or attempt to.. Look over your wiring
S13Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:11 PM   #3
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just got it to fire up. Low battery cam position sensor. Revs between 4000 and 2000. wtf vacuums? I just found this today http://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/rb/R32_A...ine_Manual.pdf. I have been reading like a mother fawker.
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:14 PM   #4
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=1&theater
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:16 PM   #5
S13Gene
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: (0)
S13Gene is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you do the wiring? is the IACV hooked up? check for vac leaks what are you using for Rpm signal? stock 240 tach?
S13Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah stock 240 tach. I dont know where to start with the Vac leak... I am not even sure if vac is the issue. i just switched out the fuel pump to a 255. Still between 3 and 4 now. I think I am going to work on the Cam position sensor tomorrow. What is the deal with the stock tach
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 06:20 AM   #7
S13Gene
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Panama City, Fl
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: (0)
S13Gene is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like you need someway to get the correct rpm.the rpms are off 800 rpm is about 1k rpm on the stock cluster as te rpm go up on the stock cluster the more its off, start buy getting some brake clean etc and spraying it around vaccum areas sounds like you needs to set the idle if its jumping idle its a vaccum leak, timing, or maf no getting signal
S13Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 04:56 PM   #8
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Vacs look good I think its timing. I have a manual but it is a bitch. I am just going to keep pulling the cam angle sensor and turning it until i find a sweet spot
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 06:40 PM   #9
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If my crank angle sensor is sitting flush then I am good. it has a slot on the spline so it only goes in one way... right?
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #10
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cranks but wont start again. WTF 150 compression across the board. Any help
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:14 PM   #11
wiring specialties
Zilvia Junkie
 
wiring specialties's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: (3)
wiring specialties is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you have any wiring questions, feel free to shoot us a PM.
wiring specialties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:48 PM   #12
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A matter of fact the harness was made by you guys. Wiring specialties
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 11:07 PM   #13
welts12786
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft Riley Kansas
Age: 37
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: (0)
welts12786 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so the is i got it up running smooth. Grounds and I had to fix my vacuums. now i have issues with the 240sx stock cluster and the clutch. i made the clutch line go directly to the slave and it just seems like my shift fork isnt retracting back like it should. seems like the clutch is always slightly engaged
welts12786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 09:54 PM   #14
Functiontheory
 
Functiontheory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: nevada
Age: 39
Posts: 48
Trader Rating: (1)
Functiontheory is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
you can adjust your clutch where the pedal and the master cylinder meet under your dash. you can adjust how far in or out you want it to ingauge, and also make sure you bleed the clutch properly. 1 more thing make sure your slave is good. if it is bad, they are pretty cheap for the oem one too. i think i got mine from raw brokerage.
__________________
check out my functional car blog,
http://www.FUNCTIONTHEORY.com
Functiontheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright ? 1998 - 2022, Zilvia.net