Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > S Chassis

S Chassis Technical discussion related to the S Chassis such as the S12, S13, S14, and S15.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2011, 07:01 PM   #1
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
KA Idle Adjust procedures on KA24DE 240sx with pictures.

So I am going to toss some info up here because i had a hard time finding photos in Search. This is how to adjust your idle with pics

1: Drive your car around the block a few times to get it up to temp.

2: unplug the TPS.



Step 3: Find the adjustment screw. Its on the intake side of the motor by the fire wall. Here is a picture.



Turn the screw clockwise to lower idle. counter clockwise to raise idle. Set your idle to 700rpm.

This is also a great time to do your ignition timing, it should be set at 20*.

Hope this helps someone.


KA24DE IACV New. http://www.frsport.com/Nissan-OEM-24...V_p_12512.html


Vacuum line diagrams




__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html

Last edited by zerodameaon; 04-19-2013 at 10:44 PM..
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-13-2011, 06:12 AM   #2
LOADING...
 
LOADING...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Honolulu,HI
Posts: 33
Trader Rating: (0)
LOADING... is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gonna Do mine tomorrow, thanks for the pics bro!!
LOADING... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:22 AM   #3
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
No problem hope it helps.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:32 AM   #4
Edwin562
Post Whore!
 
Edwin562's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Whittier (562)
Age: 29
Posts: 4,723
Trader Rating: (35)
Edwin562 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 35 reviews
nice lil write up
Edwin562 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 11:18 PM   #5
07sitos13
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: sumter sc
Age: 32
Posts: 17
Trader Rating: (0)
07sitos13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yep. found this helpful. the screw is on your iacv if that helps you find it better.
07sitos13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:08 PM   #6
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Great write up!

So what does it mean when you unplug the TPS anddd your idle adjust screw is turned all the way clockwise and you're still idling at 1200rpm? =\
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 09:34 PM   #7
project-c2
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 37
Posts: 76
Trader Rating: (4)
project-c2 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkim1985 View Post
Great write up!

So what does it mean when you unplug the TPS anddd your idle adjust screw is turned all the way clockwise and you're still idling at 1200rpm? =\
IACV is stuck, throttle plate adjusted wrong, throttle cable adjusted wrong, throttle plate bent. IDK if I missed anything. Could be anything of the nature.
project-c2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:22 AM   #8
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Check your throttle body. The shaft for my throttle body was bent somehow not letting it open past 50% but not quite close all the way. After that search around on the forum here, there is a thread about cleaning your IACV with it still on the car, and check for vacuum leaks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:50 AM   #9
psychos13
Zilvia FREAK!
 
psychos13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Beach, Ca
Age: 28
Posts: 1,184
Trader Rating: (13)
psychos13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Nice write up gonna adjust mine tomorrow
__________________
UNDER DESTRUCTION!: 91 s13 Top Secret Build
psychos13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:37 AM   #10
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by project-c2 View Post
IACV is stuck, throttle plate adjusted wrong, throttle cable adjusted wrong, throttle plate bent. IDK if I missed anything. Could be anything of the nature.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
Check your throttle body. The shaft for my throttle body was bent somehow not letting it open past 50% but not quite close all the way. After that search around on the forum here, there is a thread about cleaning your IACV with it still on the car, and check for vacuum leaks.
Thanks guys.
What I've done so far is adjusted the throttle plate, throttle cable, set TPS, no leaks. I'll try cleaning IACV, just bought a can of Throttle and Intake cleaner.
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:45 PM   #11
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Adjust that idle screw back and forth well cleaning. There is probably a chunk of something stuck in there.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 03:54 PM   #12
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
Adjust that idle screw back and forth well cleaning. There is probably a chunk of something stuck in there.
How about I unplug the TPS, unscrew the idle screw to open it up a bit and then use the intake cleaner to the IACV while keeping it revv'd up. Should be good like that, right?
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 03:13 AM   #13
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Yeah that is easiest if you have a second person to help out, then you don't have to worry about not having a third arm.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:30 AM   #14
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
Yeah that is easiest if you have a second person to help out, then you don't have to worry about not having a third arm.
so i did all that anddd...didn't change a thing. im sure it cleaned the inside a bit but.. i still have a high idle. i think theres a leak somewhere so mine might be a different issue. thanks though!
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:11 PM   #15
tapdeznutz
Nissanaholic!
 
tapdeznutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach
Age: 40
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: (50)
tapdeznutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
there is also a little screw with a lock nut that adjusts the opening of the throttle plate. check that too. might be adjusted way too much.
__________________
FS: DSS 1pc Steel Non ABS, 6bolt axles
WTB: Boost Gauge, Hatch Roof Wing
tapdeznutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:32 PM   #16
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapdeznutz View Post
there is also a little screw with a lock nut that adjusts the opening of the throttle plate. check that too. might be adjusted way too much.
already checked that.
I've set it at the idle when the car is rolling. when it comes to a standstill, then the idle will go up.
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 10:05 AM   #17
tapdeznutz
Nissanaholic!
 
tapdeznutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach
Age: 40
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: (50)
tapdeznutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkim1985 View Post
already checked that.
I've set it at the idle when the car is rolling. when it comes to a standstill, then the idle will go up.
ok back track a bit, what about resetting the TPS?
__________________
FS: DSS 1pc Steel Non ABS, 6bolt axles
WTB: Boost Gauge, Hatch Roof Wing
tapdeznutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:23 PM   #18
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapdeznutz View Post
ok back track a bit, what about resetting the TPS?
I adjusted the throttle position bolt, adjusted TPS, idle screw is turned all the way right, sprayed intake/throttle cleaner to clean IACV..
and I'm still idling at about 1200 at standstill.

I believe there is a leak from the 'exhaust header to egr pipe'..because that corner of the engine gets hot after driving for awhile. but don't know if that'll really affect the idle at standstill because isn't the egr supposed to be closed at standstill?
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:37 PM   #19
tapdeznutz
Nissanaholic!
 
tapdeznutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach
Age: 40
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: (50)
tapdeznutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
check vaccum lines. i know if i unplug certain vac lines that idle would jump.
__________________
FS: DSS 1pc Steel Non ABS, 6bolt axles
WTB: Boost Gauge, Hatch Roof Wing
tapdeznutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:05 PM   #20
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapdeznutz View Post
check vaccum lines. i know if i unplug certain vac lines that idle would jump.
Any suggestions on which and what order to start unplugging and etc?
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:11 PM   #21
tapdeznutz
Nissanaholic!
 
tapdeznutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach
Age: 40
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: (50)
tapdeznutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkim1985 View Post
Any suggestions on which and what order to start unplugging and etc?
for obvious ones, i use throttle body cleaner and spray them on the vaccum likes, if change in engine speed=for sure vac leak. or just start replacing the easiest ones. vac lines are so cheap and they are fairly easy to replace u know.
__________________
FS: DSS 1pc Steel Non ABS, 6bolt axles
WTB: Boost Gauge, Hatch Roof Wing
tapdeznutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:06 PM   #22
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
so i took my car into a shop just to see if those pros can figure out whats going on. they had it for 3 hours and couldn't figure it out. the guy i talked to said it's most likely the IACV going out.

so with that said, im going to change mine out with a new one but...mine currently looks like this..

same connectors...how do i unplug those connectors?? lol
and i've noticed other IACV's have different plugs, are there any differences? is it possible to just get a harness adapter or something?
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:30 PM   #23
tapdeznutz
Nissanaholic!
 
tapdeznutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach
Age: 40
Posts: 1,801
Trader Rating: (50)
tapdeznutz is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 50 reviews
slide the locking clip back and then pull connector off, i am assuming you are meaning different between sohc and dohc motors.
__________________
FS: DSS 1pc Steel Non ABS, 6bolt axles
WTB: Boost Gauge, Hatch Roof Wing
tapdeznutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:35 PM   #24
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapdeznutz View Post
slide the locking clip back and then pull connector off, i am assuming you are meaning different between sohc and dohc motors.
well...i have a dohc..but this is exactly how my IACV looks. most of the new new IACV's have the other connectors..
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 04:51 PM   #25
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapdeznutz View Post
slide the locking clip back and then pull connector off, i am assuming you are meaning different between sohc and dohc motors.
wheres this 'locking clip'?
do you know if theres a way to change the connector type so I can put a new IACV instead of my current older type?

If I can find a used one i'll probably do this over the weekend..gives me something to do..lol
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:22 AM   #26
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The locking clip is just a U shaped piece of metal keeping the connector from sliding off. Look very closely at the picture above with the IACV-FICD, you will see the small piece of metal, if you stick a flat head under it and pull up it will come off, just don't loose it as it tends to take flight.

Also new IACV? If its a IACV that is identical(same part number) off a newer car you can just splice in the connector if its diffrent. If its something completely different you cannot retrofit it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:02 AM   #27
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
The locking clip is just a U shaped piece of metal keeping the connector from sliding off. Look very closely at the picture above with the IACV-FICD, you will see the small piece of metal, if you stick a flat head under it and pull up it will come off, just don't loose it as it tends to take flight.

Also new IACV? If its a IACV that is identical(same part number) off a newer car you can just splice in the connector if its diffrent. If its something completely different you cannot retrofit it.
idk if i can see the locking clip on mine..maybe its facing inward..
also..apparently these older connectors are for SOHC?? but mines a DOHC??
wth nissan!? anyways will an IACV for the SOHC work on the DOHC?
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 02:04 AM   #28
zerodameaon
Post Whore!
 
zerodameaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bay Area CA, Sutherlin OR
Age: 31
Posts: 3,250
Trader Rating: (3)
zerodameaon is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
It might be on the bottom or something. Should look like the piece of metal in this picture and on the bottom side you cant see it almost closes the loop but there is a gap in there to allow it to be removed.


As far as SOHC and DOHC, if you can find the one for the dual cam and remove the doubts, they are probably the same inside but the sensors may be different.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMigs View Post
That's a one-way trip to understeer land...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BKdaMoRoN View Post
Maybe you should petition the retards who are paying 5k for an S13.

Need to adjust your idle?
http://zilvia.net/f/s-chassis/395413...-pictures.html
zerodameaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:14 PM   #29
dkim1985
Zilvia Addict
 
dkim1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Gardena, CA
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: (28)
dkim1985 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 28 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by zerodameaon View Post
It might be on the bottom or something. Should look like the piece of metal in this picture and on the bottom side you cant see it almost closes the loop but there is a gap in there to allow it to be removed.

As far as SOHC and DOHC, if you can find the one for the dual cam and remove the doubts, they are probably the same inside but the sensors may be different.
Thanks for the picture! helps a lot!
I had someone contact Nissan about the IACV connectors and these old connectors were pretty much decommissioned (big surprise...) and they said you can just hardwire the new connectors to the harness and use the newer replacements.
I think I will be doing this later on..

For now, seems as though my situation has changed.
I dont think my IACV is the problem..there seems to be an air leak somewhere back there.
I can hear a hissing sound and the idle flucuation/high idle has gotten a lot worse and will die when city driving.
At this moment, my mechanic has it and is going to do an evap/smoke test.
We'll see whats going on. Will update later.
__________________
FS: Nismo R-Tune Camshafts for VQ35DE.
dkim1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 09:25 AM   #30
sx261
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Merced
Age: 25
Posts: 17
Trader Rating: (0)
sx261 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so I've been having this issue...
when coming to a standstill.. for example like at a stoplight... i sometimes experience a fluctuation idle.
Any ideas to as what this could be?
sx261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™