Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 06:56 PM   #1
JRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 33
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
JRC is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think I'm in over my head.

So I just bought my first 240 recently, its a 1995 with a ka24de and looks fairly clean on the outside. One of the previous owners did an auto to manual conversion to it, and besides the random wires everywhere not plugged into anything it seems to run decently. My reason for posting is to ask about one specific wire, the knock sensor harness. I am getting the code for the knock sensor and the picture should show the reason, but when I bought a harness to replace the current one it would not fit the plug on the engine harness. How should I go about fixing this issue so I can rule out the ghetto wires causing my knock sensor code and make my car just a little less ghetto. Thanks for any help.
JRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-16-2019, 06:57 PM   #2
JRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 33
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
JRC is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
https://imgur.com/a/gt0j2jY
heres a link to the picture of the harness plug
JRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 06:07 AM   #3
TEN_2nd_BUSTER
 
TEN_2nd_BUSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Southeast, Wisconsin
Posts: 17
Trader Rating: (0)
TEN_2nd_BUSTER is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
use a volt meter to make sure the circuit is good, it might look bad but the wire might not be the problem.
__________________
BROKE, BUSTED, AND DRAGGIN.... but i fix it
TEN_2nd_BUSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 06:48 AM   #4
tuzzio
Nissanaholic!
 
tuzzio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 2,067
Trader Rating: (3)
tuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant futuretuzzio has a brilliant future
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Where did you buy the new subharness from?
tuzzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 07:20 AM   #5
JRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 33
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
JRC is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The first harness came from eBay, it I have a wiring specialties harness on the way. I checked the voltage with the car running and the sensor plugged in, itís reading 2.5v. It is also only reading 2.5v on the harness side when the sensor is unplugged.
JRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 09:05 AM   #6
KiLLeR2001
Post Whore!
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: オーランドフロリダ
Posts: 7,948
Trader Rating: (45)
KiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud ofKiLLeR2001 has much to be proud of
Feedback Score: 45 reviews
ECU should be sending 5V to the sensor with the harness unplugged, once plugged in you should get around 2.5V. Can always test to see if the sensor itself is bad by bypassing it with a resistor.
__________________
KiLLeR2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 09:54 AM   #7
JRC
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Houston, Texas
Age: 33
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: (0)
JRC is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok. What would cause the harness to only have 2.5v with the sensor unplugged? Also, while checking the voltage when plugged in I did hear some very subtle rattling coming from the valve cover. Maybe the sensor is picking up this and is sending the knock sensor code?
JRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 03:07 PM   #8
Kingtal0n
Post Whore!
 
Kingtal0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Florida
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
Trader Rating: (17)
Kingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really niceKingtal0n is just really nice
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Kingtal0n
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRC View Post
https://imgur.com/a/gt0j2jY
heres a link to the picture of the harness plug
I cant tell anything in that picture.

knock sensor is one wire but there is a 1 wire sensor in that pic that could be anything

advice
post pictures of the car and harness plugs you have questions about
__________________
5.3/4l80e/turbo 240sx playthrough:
https://tinyurl.com/turbo240
Kingtal0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.netô