Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > S Chassis

S Chassis Technical discussion related to the S Chassis such as the S12, S13, S14, and S15.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2018, 09:32 PM   #1
Loganoski
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
Loganoski is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
240sx z32 brake swap, need help please

I own a 240sx (s13) with stock brakes, 4 lug all the way around.
I've tried to do research but I've gotten confused, im a beginner with all of this so any help would be great.

So for the front swap I'd need the rotor and a z32 caliper

however the rears confuse me...Id need a
- 2 drilled slotted rotors
- 4 z32 rear calipers (dual caliper)
- gteckh dual caliper bracket
- r33 gts e brake line

- new brake cables??


and then would i have to get z32 knuckles aswell for the swap???

Last edited by Loganoski; 11-14-2018 at 09:32 PM.. Reason: new tags
Loganoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-2018, 10:02 PM   #2
afishysilvia
Premium Member
 
afishysilvia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,752
Trader Rating: (27)
afishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Use R33 brake cables, SS lines for calipers.
Some even make the Z32 stock lines work with some modifications.

Not sure for S13 but my S14 knuckles worked just fine, didn’t need z32 knuckles

Your bible:

https://importnut.net/300zxbrakeswap.htm
__________________
Dont be a pussy...Leave your name
afishysilvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:06 PM   #3
Loganoski
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
Loganoski is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by afishysilvia View Post
Use R33 brake cables, SS lines for calipers.
Some even make the Z32 stock lines work with some modifications.

Not sure for S13 but my S14 knuckles worked just fine, didn’t need z32 knuckles

Your bible:

https://importnut.net/300zxbrakeswap.htm

thanks for the help, and ive read over that swap link just confused me alittle, they removed the knuckles but ive seen people who didn't so i may just be confused with it all
Loganoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:09 PM   #4
afishysilvia
Premium Member
 
afishysilvia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cali
Posts: 2,752
Trader Rating: (27)
afishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond reputeafishysilvia has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 27 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loganoski View Post
thanks for the help, and ive read over that swap link just confused me alittle, they removed the knuckles but ive seen people who didn't so i may just be confused with it all
I’ve seen it both ways, if you have the right tools you can turn the axles and have access to the bolts that hold the hubs. Don’t confuse knuckles with the hubs. I never removed the knuckles, but you will need to unbolt the hubs to install the adapters and z32 dust shields.
__________________
Dont be a pussy...Leave your name
afishysilvia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 10:52 PM   #5
Loganoski
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
Loganoski is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by afishysilvia View Post
I’ve seen it both ways, if you have the right tools you can turn the axles and have access to the bolts that hold the hubs. Don’t confuse knuckles with the hubs. I never removed the knuckles, but you will need to unbolt the hubs to install the adapters and z32 dust shields.
The hub seems easy to change, there’s just some YouTube vids where they fully takeout the knuckle and Even cut a part of it off for clesrance I just never knew why
Loganoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 11:20 PM   #6
s13-ghost
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 27
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: (17)
s13-ghost is a well-known jackass
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
S13 you use z32 2+2 ebrake cables, unless doing splice method. R33 are for s14. Google z32 ebrake conversion and it will come up. Info has been covered many times. Next time do some research, info is all over the web.
And you dont need z32 knuckles. Stock will be fine.
s13-ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 12:29 PM   #7
xcivicdx
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: middletown
Age: 35
Posts: 11
Trader Rating: (0)
xcivicdx is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
or you could just get regular discs in the back and not slotted and just a set of rear brakes unless youre going for the duel rear caliper setup. could setup a hydro ebrake if you went the rear dual ebrake setup.
xcivicdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 12:50 PM   #8
Loganoski
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
Loganoski is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by s13-ghost View Post
S13 you use z32 2+2 ebrake cables, unless doing splice method. R33 are for s14. Google z32 ebrake conversion and it will come up. Info has been covered many times. Next time do some research, info is all over the web.
And you dont need z32 knuckles. Stock will be fine.


"next time do some research" next time don't be a dick.. as I've stated above i have done research and got confused so im on a thread where people can help me.
Loganoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 12:51 PM   #9
Loganoski
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5
Trader Rating: (0)
Loganoski is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcivicdx View Post
or you could just get regular discs in the back and not slotted and just a set of rear brakes unless youre going for the duel rear caliper setup. could setup a hydro ebrake if you went the rear dual ebrake setup.

i was planning on a dual caliper z32 rear swap
Loganoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 02:18 PM   #10
s13-ghost
Zilvia Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vista, CA
Age: 27
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: (17)
s13-ghost is a well-known jackass
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loganoski View Post
"next time do some research" next time don't be a dick.. as I've stated above i have done research and got confused so im on a thread where people can help me.
Spoon feeding, and getting called a dick. Lol. Obviously you haven't searched enough. Google, youtube will give you all the info on 13. I told you, z32 2+2 cables for s13. Brackets will be necessary, unless you fab your own. With that attitude, you wont last on zilvia for long. Surprised, that you are not from Florida
s13-ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 04:10 AM   #11
gaz_moose
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: engerland
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: (0)
gaz_moose is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do your American S13's not have internal drum handbrakes?
if they do then its all the same as a z32 so you can just retain all your s13 handbrake stuff.
gaz_moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 12:52 PM   #12
xcivicdx
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: middletown
Age: 35
Posts: 11
Trader Rating: (0)
xcivicdx is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loganoski View Post
i was planning on a dual caliper z32 rear swap
i realize that. what im saying is that you dont need drilled and slotted to do it.
xcivicdx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 02:00 PM   #13
LoSt180
Zilvia Addict
 
LoSt180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: MD
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: (18)
LoSt180 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 18 reviews
I thought dual calipers were to use the second caliper as the ebrake? In that case, you can just skip right over all of the z32 drum ebrake and cable stuff. Install the rear calipers like normal, then run the lines and stuff needed for the new hydro ebrake to the second calipers, done.

Most of the previous replies to this thread are assuming you're doing a standard brake upgrade with the stock ebrake setup. That's probably why all of the info is confusing you.
LoSt180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
z32


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™