Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk > Engine Tech

Engine Tech Technical discussion related to all relevant engines such as KA, SR, RB, CA, 2JZ , L24/26/28, VG, VQ, and LSx series.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2013, 01:10 AM   #1
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
RB26 S14 cutting out under acceleration?

I'm posting this for a friend because i'm curious as to why this is happening. My friend has a RB26 out of a R32 swapped into his S14 running off of a Haltech Platinum Pro ECU. Car turns on fine and drives fine except whenever my friend goes under acceleration (usually WOT) but it also happens during regular acceleration too, the car starts spitting and just bogs. This happens at anywhere from 3000-7000 rpm and is completely random. AFR reads around 10.5-11.2 at WOT. What are possible causes of this? Sorry if i'm not being very detailed (it's not my car I just feel bad for my friend and want to help him figure it out).

Side notes:
1000cc RC injectors
Twin turbos have been machined to larger size (T3/T4 with HKS internals)
Splitfire coil packs

If there are any details that could help you figure/troubleshoot this problem please PM or post here and I will try to get them from my friend.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-17-2013, 01:16 AM   #2
240boi115
Zilvia FREAK!
 
240boi115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Torrance
Age: 27
Posts: 1,475
Trader Rating: (6)
240boi115 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
did your friend get a tune after his motor was swapped into his car?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13esim View Post
I'll trade you my 300ZX and my older sister
my 240 broke down..again
240boi115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:19 AM   #3
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 240boi115 View Post
did your friend get a tune after his motor was swapped into his car?
Sorry, I forgot to mention that! Yes, the car was tuned and the same issue was occuring on the dyno (while being tuned) and the tuner didn't figure out why either.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:20 AM   #4
AsleepAltima
Zilvia Addict
 
AsleepAltima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Ca
Age: 46
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: (8)
AsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
no boost leaks or vacuum leaks?
AsleepAltima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:29 AM   #5
240boi115
Zilvia FREAK!
 
240boi115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Torrance
Age: 27
Posts: 1,475
Trader Rating: (6)
240boi115 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 6 reviews
maybe a boost leak^^^ or possibly a dirty throttle body. my ek9 did this and when i cleaned out the throttle body it worked magic and stopped bogging and acting up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13esim View Post
I'll trade you my 300ZX and my older sister
my 240 broke down..again
240boi115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 01:37 AM   #6
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsleepAltima View Post
no boost leaks or vacuum leaks?
Not to my knowledge. I'll ask him tomorrow. Wouldn't a boost/vacuum leak cause a constant issue though? The issue my friend is experiencing is random and doesn't always occur although it is pretty often. It causes the car to go into limp mode as well. The turbos still have factory actuators as well. Don't know if that helps at all, i'm just throwing out all the info I know about the car.


More side notes:

Stock wastegate actuators
Single HKS SSQV
N1 bottom end
Factory turbo elbows
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:36 AM   #7
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Well, I just wanted to update this post for anyone who might experience similar issues. We noticed that when the issue occurs the tachometer drops to zero. Being that the RPMs are based off spark pulses, this indicates there is no spark when the issue occurs causing it to cut out. We are assuming it is a faulty ignitor chip and will be replacing it and see if that fixes the issue. I will post updates.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 05:44 PM   #8
funktown240
Zilvia Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ft. Worth
Age: 36
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: (10)
funktown240 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Make sure that the injector corrections are correct. Low/High imp, injector latency and dead time. You can contact the manufacturer for details or if you have a flow sheet
funktown240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 05:45 PM   #9
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by funktown240 View Post
Make sure that the injector corrections are correct. Low/High imp, injector latency and dead time. You can contact the manufacturer for details or if you have a flow sheet
Thanks! Yes, my friend has a flow sheet for the injectors so I will let him know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 07:12 PM   #10
ultimateirving
Zilvia FREAK!
 
ultimateirving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: arizona
Age: 32
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: (1)
ultimateirving is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Symptoms sound like spark break up to me, With the splitfire system im not sure why he would be seeing issues with the spark, but more than likely you will find it after the ignitor is tested. Also make sure the plugs are gapped properly, TOO wide of gap can cause blow out at higher boost
I had a stock coil pack that worked well enough to drive, but started bogging misfiring and cutting out randomly if i gave it any gas.

So, to me, that is what sounds like is happening to the RB26
__________________
Sr20det - z33 trans-e85
Desert Street Scene || Dssevents.com
ultimateirving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:18 PM   #11
Kingtal0n
Post Whore!
 
Kingtal0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Florida
Age: 36
Posts: 4,298
Trader Rating: (17)
Kingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to all
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Kingtal0n
Ive seen this before its usually plug related. try some iridium plugs brand new out of the box before you do ANYTHING else. I had a 2j give the same exact trouble and it was just plugs.
__________________
5.3/4l80e/turbo 240sx playthrough:
https://tinyurl.com/turbo240
Kingtal0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:15 PM   #12
AsleepAltima
Zilvia Addict
 
AsleepAltima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ontario, Ca
Age: 46
Posts: 667
Trader Rating: (8)
AsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura aboutAsleepAltima has a spectacular aura about
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
That doesn't explain the tach going to zero... That sounds to me like a harness ground problem.
AsleepAltima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:23 PM   #13
Kingtal0n
Post Whore!
 
Kingtal0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Florida
Age: 36
Posts: 4,298
Trader Rating: (17)
Kingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to all
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Kingtal0n
Quote:
Originally Posted by AsleepAltima View Post
That doesn't explain the tach going to zero... That sounds to me like a harness ground problem.
If plugs dont fix it, then I would start thinking like this. Yes. But try plugs first IMO. I mean, yeah check the silly ground on the back of the engine.
Check if anything was painted under like by the headlights where serious grounds are. true true true
__________________
5.3/4l80e/turbo 240sx playthrough:
https://tinyurl.com/turbo240
Kingtal0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 11:27 PM   #14
Sileighty_85
Post Whore!
 
Sileighty_85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Misawa, Japan
Posts: 6,815
Trader Rating: (8)
Sileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfectionSileighty_85 is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
blowing out spark isnt gonna make the tach drop to zero all of a sudden if everything else is getting power and the engine is still rotating. It would dip a few hundred RPMS but not to Zero

Def sounds like a power loss if the tach just drops to zero all of a sudden, especially if its random. Sparks plugs arent intermittent they either work or they dont.

My S13 had a similar issue with randomly shutting off, turned out I had a bad chassis plug that a wire inside the plug corroded and broke.

For shits and gigs I would check plug gap, but Def would check harness plugs and grounds.
__________________
後輪駆動車1番
1989 Built SR GT2871R -363whp
1998 S14 W/RB25- 250ish (For Now)
1986 SR86 - 200ish
1990 R32 GTR - 320hp
Don't Buy Engines from JDM-Online http://zilvia.net/f/businesses/207457-jdm-online.html
Don't Buy XS-Power or SSAC Shit
Sileighty_85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 01:15 AM   #15
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Thanks for all the helpful posts guys! Also, wanted to mention that the issue is only occuring in first and second gears. I will tell him to check all the aforementioned possibilities.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 06:49 AM   #16
Kingtal0n
Post Whore!
 
Kingtal0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Florida
Age: 36
Posts: 4,298
Trader Rating: (17)
Kingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to allKingtal0n is a name known to all
Feedback Score: 17 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Kingtal0n
how do you know the tach issue has anything to do with the misfire? Just because they happen at the same exact time doesn't mean they are related.

It also would depend on what kind of tach and how the tachometer is referencing rpm. If it comes right off the ECU then it could be an ECU related issue which would explain both problems.

If steve was here, he would tell you unplug the ECU and check the terminals for corrosion.
__________________
5.3/4l80e/turbo 240sx playthrough:
https://tinyurl.com/turbo240
Kingtal0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 07:05 AM   #17
cbcm2435
Zilvia Junkie
 
cbcm2435's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Age: 29
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: (0)
cbcm2435 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cam angle sensor maybe?
cbcm2435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:21 AM   #18
Driftwurks
Zilvia Addict
 
Driftwurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: US
Age: 26
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: (11)
Driftwurks is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingtal0n View Post
how do you know the tach issue has anything to do with the misfire? Just because they happen at the same exact time doesn't mean they are related.

It also would depend on what kind of tach and how the tachometer is referencing rpm. If it comes right off the ECU then it could be an ECU related issue which would explain both problems.

If steve was here, he would tell you unplug the ECU and check the terminals for corrosion.
Factory tachometer hooked up to a haltech ecu.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopez7354 View Post
SoCal is where 240's come to die
Driftwurks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2015, 01:13 AM   #19
91coupesr20det
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: eureka, california
Age: 27
Posts: 61
Trader Rating: (0)
91coupesr20det is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What fixed it?
91coupesr20det is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 12:24 AM   #20
tareqelk
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: memphis tn
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: (0)
tareqelk is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the same problem in my 300zx I had my car tuned and still have the vg30dett motor running haltech it does the same thing you just described. It hissitates at 3k and up only on first and second gear and it does it randomly. I have no idea what it is!
tareqelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™