Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Tech Talk

Tech Talk Technical Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2008, 06:39 PM   #1
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
KA s14 KA engine harness converted to s13 HELP!

hey guys i was wondering how to convert the s14 engine harness on to a s13 harness to properly make the headlights work and turn signals along with ignition sot eh key can turn the car on because i just swapped in a ka24de in my 89 s13 and the motor was from a 95 s14 some help? thanks

Last edited by Smoothlikewater; 12-12-2008 at 06:42 PM.. Reason: copy and paste error
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-2008, 06:57 PM   #2
Om1kron
Post Whore!
 
Om1kron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: fuck you, CA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,877
Trader Rating: (15)
Om1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant future
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothlikewater View Post
hey guys i was wondering how to convert the s14 engine harness on to a s13 harness to properly make the headlights work and turn signals along with ignition sot eh key can turn the car on because i just swapped in a ka24de in my 89 s13 and the motor was from a 95 s14 some help? thanks
No luck searching on this? I know the s13 has some power plugs in the engine bay and then there is the whole odb 2 thing. I'm not too sure how i'm going to tackle the ka24de thing for my s13, I just bought a s13 ka24de harness for my motor.

I'll disable the egr emissions stuff and I am going to disable the knock sensor on my ka as well since it's a daily beater and faulty wiring is to blame.

bah! I don't even want to think about it, good luck.

subscribed.

__________________
Buy my car : http://zilvia.net/f/showthread.php?t=620537
Om1kron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:11 PM   #3
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
well the s13 ka24de has a coilpack where as s14 ka24de doesnt have it and the s13 pop head lights vs the s14 non pop up wiring and the ignition...

I've been search no such luck finding it so yeah asking some smart tech guys that maybe have done the before that can help.
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:32 PM   #4
Om1kron
Post Whore!
 
Om1kron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: fuck you, CA
Age: 39
Posts: 6,877
Trader Rating: (15)
Om1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant futureOm1kron has a brilliant future
Feedback Score: 15 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothlikewater View Post
well the s13 ka24de has a coilpack where as s14 ka24de doesnt have it and the s13 pop head lights vs the s14 non pop up wiring and the ignition...

I've been search no such luck finding it so yeah asking some smart tech guys that maybe have done the before that can help.
ah I thought you just needed the upper engine harness.
__________________
Buy my car : http://zilvia.net/f/showthread.php?t=620537
Om1kron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:44 PM   #5
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
well i just want my key to turn on (ignition) the car by using the 95 s14 and having my head lights work (pop up) thats all
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 07:49 PM   #6
projectRDM
Post Whore!
 
projectRDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Age: 45
Posts: 13,812
Trader Rating: (12)
projectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothlikewater View Post
well the s13 ka24de has a coilpack where as s14 ka24de doesnt have it and the s13 pop head lights vs the s14 non pop up wiring and the ignition...

I've been search no such luck finding it so yeah asking some smart tech guys that maybe have done the before that can help.
You're searching sucks because you're looking for nonexistent shit. There is no KA engine that uses coilpacks.

Second, the engine harness has absolutely nothing to do with the headlights or anything else on the chassis. Nothing. That's two completely different harnesses, you can use any KA engine in your chassis and use any harness, the S14 harness will require a lot more rewiring but all your connections will be made solely for EFI power, A/C, and the cluster. S13s make connections to the underhood harness by the battery, S14s to the F3 plug inside. But again, these have nothing to do with anything else, you can remove the entire engine harness completely and everything else in the car will still work fine.
__________________
FORMERLY R240NA

Learn what's really going on and protect your assets now before they're gone forever: www.paypalsucks.com
projectRDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 08:39 PM   #7
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by projectRDM View Post
You're searching sucks because you're looking for nonexistent shit. There is no KA engine that uses coilpacks.

Second, the engine harness has absolutely nothing to do with the headlights or anything else on the chassis. Nothing. That's two completely different harnesses, you can use any KA engine in your chassis and use any harness, the S14 harness will require a lot more rewiring but all your connections will be made solely for EFI power, A/C, and the cluster. S13s make connections to the underhood harness by the battery, S14s to the F3 plug inside. But again, these have nothing to do with anything else, you can remove the entire engine harness completely and everything else in the car will still work fine.
sorry i just tried searching before asking =/ but yeah you're saying i can use a s13 dohc harness and it'll run?
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:37 AM   #8
projectRDM
Post Whore!
 
projectRDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Age: 45
Posts: 13,812
Trader Rating: (12)
projectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothlikewater View Post
sorry i just tried searching before asking =/ but yeah you're saying i can use a s13 dohc harness and it'll run?
I would use nothing but an S13 harness, it's a direct plug in under the hood and a repin of 6-7 wires inside. 30x as easy as an S14 harness.
__________________
FORMERLY R240NA

Learn what's really going on and protect your assets now before they're gone forever: www.paypalsucks.com
projectRDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 01:02 PM   #9
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
alright thanks a lot for the info ill go do that oh yeah the s14 ka does have the fifth coil wire where as the s13 does but if i run into any problems maybe you can help me out? thanks for the info though helped out a lot
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 01:58 PM   #10
projectRDM
Post Whore!
 
projectRDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Age: 45
Posts: 13,812
Trader Rating: (12)
projectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoothlikewater View Post
alright thanks a lot for the info ill go do that oh yeah the s14 ka does have the fifth coil wire where as the s13 does but if i run into any problems maybe you can help me out? thanks for the info though helped out a lot
No, the S14 has an internal coil. Use an S13 DOHC external coil and distributor and you're fine.
__________________
FORMERLY R240NA

Learn what's really going on and protect your assets now before they're gone forever: www.paypalsucks.com
projectRDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:18 PM   #11
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
alright thanks a lot that was the info i needed you were a big help!
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 02:38 PM   #12
Smoothlikewater
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sunnyvale California
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: (3)
Smoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her selfSmoothlikewater is making a name for him/her self
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
In regards to the 6-7 wires that need to be spliced and re wired, what are those wires particularly?

Are they something that would hinder the car from running at all? Or could I put this 91 harness in and get the car going at least for now?
Smoothlikewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 03:31 PM   #13
projectRDM
Post Whore!
 
projectRDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Age: 45
Posts: 13,812
Trader Rating: (12)
projectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfectionprojectRDM is close to perfection
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
Go find a writeup on doing a DOHC swap into a SOHC chassis. There's several on this site and tons elsewhere online. Read it. All your wiring questions are answered this. This topic is too widely discussed to get rehashing it daily for people who haven't researched it yet.
__________________
FORMERLY R240NA

Learn what's really going on and protect your assets now before they're gone forever: www.paypalsucks.com
projectRDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 12:26 AM   #14
eclipse_dsm
Zilvia Junkie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DriftHeaven
Posts: 411
Trader Rating: (3)
eclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond reputeeclipse_dsm has a reputation beyond repute
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Wow your making this swap more complicated. Get a S13 DOHC engine harness, DOHC ECU, Distributor, and intake manifold /w all sensors. Relocate PS line and color match your dash connectors for sohc and dohc are not same but wire colors are. I just did this swap but mine was a DOHC already so it just a matter of swapping longblock and keeping the rest the same. GL.
eclipse_dsm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2008, 01:27 AM   #15
cycloneskate
Leaky Injector
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SOCAL 92591
Age: 33
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: (2)
cycloneskate is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
turn signals wont work if the hazard switch isnt plugged in, and make sure your headlight motor switch is plugged all the way in as well- that fixed the problem on my sohc-dohc swapped 89 coupe
__________________
psh why pay someone else when you can do it yourself?
cycloneskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 10:55 PM   #16
dimkamoose
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antelope
Posts: 3
Trader Rating: (0)
dimkamoose is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
does anyone know if the whole s14 harness conversion to fit s13 has been done?
i know it sounds like a very difficult and annoying way but it might be the only way i can do this
dimkamoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 11:06 AM   #17
Toomuch240
Leaky Injector
 
Toomuch240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: (2)
Toomuch240 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
http://www.ka-t.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13860
Toomuch240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 11:20 AM   #18
Toomuch240
Leaky Injector
 
Toomuch240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 73
Trader Rating: (2)
Toomuch240 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Also, use this for better pics of the s13 Chassis connectors

https://www.nicoclub.com/archives/s1...-s13-swap.html
Toomuch240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vB.Sponsors
Copyright © 1998 - 2019, Zilvia.net™