PDA

View Full Version : Probably been discussed . . .

DJPimpFlex
12-13-2005, 06:27 AM
Sorry if this is a repost and I've searched, but I had a question. In california I know skylines and RB motors can be legal, which leads me to believe that possibly RB swaps into S chassis cars may be legal. I'm no expert on Cali smog regualtions, but I know that the motor has to be as old or newer than the chassis, and it must retain all smog equiptment designed for the motor and the chassis cat possition, but what else? I dunno, I suspose that if it could be done it would already have been, but I havent sceen it. Just interested.

andrewmp6
12-13-2005, 06:55 AM
i dont know if it will pass or not cali smog test are tough good luck

luckyrb13
12-13-2005, 07:36 AM
I have a friend who is in the proccess of making his rb26 legal in the s chassis. Hopefully it it can be done. id love to do the same thing for my car.:x:

Jonnie Fraz
12-13-2005, 08:32 PM
Ok you might not get alot of responce, because yes it has been discussed. I will tell you what the Federal EPA law states. " Another situation recently brought to the EPA's attention offering for sale of used foregn built motors These engines are not covered by certified configuration for any vehicle sold in the country. In such case, there is no way to install such an engine legally." Now this is a Federal law not California law, wich means this goes for the whole country not just California.

kazuo
12-14-2005, 12:27 AM
Matty Matt,

Cannot be done, since MotoRex's RB's are [supposed to be] modified from their original state, including but not limited to, EGR Valve, remapped ECUs, etc.

Assuming you were able to obtain all of the parts needed to replicate their modifications, including the ECU tune, you would only be able to use a R33 Skyline GT-R engine, as that was only one federalized by the EPA for street use.

That will be hard to do, unless you