PDA

View Full Version : Selecting a turbo/reading compressor maps

revolutionz_s13
07-11-2005, 12:16 PM
Ok. I have spent hours reading on this. I am looking at a Garrett GT25/40R turbo for my 95 KA24DE motor. I cannot figure out how to read compressor maps for the life of me using what little info I did find. I think I need the flow rate of the KA in order to make the maps more relevant. Although I am not new to the world of turbos (mostly experience with bolt-on kits), I am new to how to match a turbo up to a car based on the flow and efficiency which is seen on the compressor map. I am trying to put together a kit for my car, and want the best possible combination of parts/fastest spool time. My goal in the end is to run anywhere from 350-450 rwhp. Here is a link to the compressor map for that turbo.
http://www.atpturbo.com/root/maps/gt2540r.htm
Here is the link to the turbine map. ( what do I need to know about this map?)
http://www.atpturbo.com/root/maps/gt28rsturbine.htm

Also, from what I gathered, a lower A/R will produce a quicker spool-up, but a higher A/R will give more top end power, but more lag. Is this correct. If so, I would be looking at the .64 A/R for this turbo. It is now 3:30am, and I'm not sure if the post quite makes sense, but I am at a loss after about 4 hours of research on this. It is killing me. Any help or other information that I might need would be appreciated.

-Nate

caall99
07-11-2005, 01:11 PM
i wish i could help but i haven't quite figured out the whole matching game either. once this thread gets some good answers i think it should be put in the FAQ because i am sure there are alot of people interested in understanding turbo maps.

theicecreamdan
07-11-2005, 09:47 PM
I'm not sure on the maps, but you've got the exhaust size part right.

revolutionz_s13
07-12-2005, 12:59 AM