PDA

View Full Version : Rebuild of an SR20

undercoverdjay
03-20-2005, 04:19 PM
So Im putting together a shopping list for this summer. Now that its near the end of the semester and I can put in some work weeks Im making a list of componets to buy to build my SR project before I swap it in. Ive been browsing around and have seen many SR's tuned to around 400 crank HP on stock internals. Far fetched as it may seem or not Im shooting for 500 crank HP. Might seem like ricer talk but Ive been building my car for 3 years now and have acheived everything I planned thus far. Without being flamed, Im looking for a list of reputable parts that have been tested and tried as good componets. Im looking into a crank up rebuild. New valves, valve springs, port/polish, cams, etc etc. I need to combine some opinion here so Im not trying to ebay shitty parts later on. Also driveline componets are important here too. Keep in mind this is no longer my daily driver, Ive since picked up another 92 S13 hatch. Everyday drivability isnt much of an issue. Grant it Im not looking for a strictly track car either. Another thing I havent seen too much feedback is the S15 6 speed transmission. So any insight on that is appreciated as well. I appreciate the help everyone.

usctom
03-20-2005, 06:50 PM
the 6sp is weak. Im in the process of rebuilding mine, but Im sticking with mostly stock stuff besides pistons(cp). the only other thing I think u really would need to upgrade would be rods, valve spring (comp), Cams, Intake manifold(greddy)and replace everything else with oem (valves, bearings, waterpump, oil pump, and etc).

slivia-junkie
03-20-2005, 08:12 PM
how much you looking to spend 500 is possible but not cheap. have you looked into a 2.2 stroker kit toda racing makes a good

undercoverdjay
03-20-2005, 08:54 PM