PDA

View Full Version : SAFC + 480cc injectors... now flooding

rps13_fastback
12-27-2004, 03:44 AM
Hey guys, I'm having a little trouble after installing s15 480cc injectors in my kouki S14 SR20DET. Before I installed them, my car was running fine with S-AFCII. IN and OUT were both set at 1.

After installing the injectors, the car cranks but doesn't start. We have spark after putting a plug in the coilpack and cranking the motor.

BTW we set the AFC to -23% on both HI and LO to compensate for the bigger injectors.

After pulling the injectors, it seems to be flooded with fuel. We put back the 370cc injectors back in but the same thing happens, cranks but doesn't start, and after pulling it is flooded with fuel.

We did not replace the o-rings on the s15 injectors :smash:. Can that be the problem. I'm going to buy some new ones Monday and see if that solves anything.

Anyone know what could be causing the injectors to flood? And any solutions? This is my first time changing injectors. TIA any help is appreciated

Loofee95SE
12-27-2004, 08:12 AM
If U Replace The Injectors Back To The Original 370cc And Still Flood, Then U Might Need To Check The Afc, Or Check And See That U Didn't Accidently Pop Any Ic Pipping Lose. Just A Thought. C

89s132b
12-27-2004, 10:00 AM
The SAFC cannot compensate for injector size at start-up/closed loop. Your ECU and O2 sensor will control that. start-up/driveability will be much better if you use a ROM tune to compensate for your larger injectors. Still though, with just 480's you shouldn't have much of a problem starting your car. Definately check for leaks or just get new o-rings.

Did you let the pooled fuel evaporte completely before trying the 370's again? I'm guessing you popped the 370's back in right after you flooded your car with the 480's. So your car was still flooded when you tried the 370's and hence the no start.

89s132b
12-27-2004, 10:02 AM