PDA

View Full Version : when to lower compression

Tmaxxahol
06-16-2004, 10:33 AM
I am in the process of building the motor before I do the swap on a S13. The motor is a Redtop SR20Det.. I am looking to upgrade to a larger turbo sometime next winter.. (cant afford it all at once)
I am running HKS Cams stage 1 and 750cc injectors turned down and a Blitz FMIC all of these I already have.. the heads are done and I am approching reassembly
I am curious as to what poundage of boost will it benefit me to drop my head compression.......
Thanks

still needed stand alone ignition, and blow off valve.

Also anyone know of anybody that works on Haltech Ignitions in the Tristate Pa VA MD Area.. Thanks again
Please dont flame me Im a noob

msaskin
06-16-2004, 10:54 AM
It all depends...

What are your goals, what turbo are you planning on running, is this car supposed to end up streetable, etc...
The pro honda drag cars run 12:1+ compression and 20+psi of boost, but these are full blown race cars.

~matt

Steeles
06-16-2004, 12:15 PM
you really dont need to lower compression anymore on a redtop its already at 8.5:1, generally you only lower compression on non factory turbocharged engines due to the fact they run higher compressions. (for example the stock KA comp is 9.5:1) some SR owners have been known to RAISE compression to 9:1 for better streetability and response. heard nothing but good reviews from this setup. and can be done easy enough. CP pistons makes a set that will change the Comp. ratio for the same price as forged stock replacements. I know jgy carries them along with a few others.

AenjukuCar
06-16-2004, 12:54 PM
Well check out Dynamic Motorsports in Dillsburg, Pa on route 15 their number is (717)502-8535 or visit their website at [email protected]. I'll have my 240 their in two weeks on the dyno thats Tues 22nd of this month. Another place that is really really good is up in Stamford, CT it's really worth going to them to do tuning also that place is called: