PDA

View Full Version : 1995 s14

t.mann2395
03-13-2014, 10:05 AM
Alright guys, so I'm new to this so go easy on me.

I have a 1995 s14 100% original stock parts, I want to do an engine rebuild on my ka24de that's sitting on 234,000 miles, also I would like to drop in an sr20 manual transmission because I do have an auto and cannot stand it. From my understanding the ka and the sr have the same transmission internals and I would just have to change the bell housing. But to my real question would it be more cost and time effective to do the rebuild and transmission swap or would I be better off just doing the full sr swap into my car. Ive owned the car for three years and finally have a job where I've got the money to make her the beast she needs to be.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me with this situation

stigo
03-13-2014, 11:02 AM
I would say depends on what kind of rebuilt you are talking about for the ka. If you are doing the full rebiult then the sr is probably cheaper. Anyway, if I were you and if your car is currently running i would just get the sr and slowly replace all the hoses and what not before dropping it in. Once its good to go then do the swap. It should be very reliable this way and you have no downtime.

CamberWear
03-13-2014, 12:33 PM
Really no need to trouble yourself with a sr trans, there's no benefits to it over the ka trans.

Also, unless your current motor seems broken in some way it may not need a rebuild, but nonetheless, a freshly rebuilt ka with all the right bolt ons would be every bit of a fun, RELIABLE daily/beater when mated with a manual transmission.