PDA

View Full Version : j4 ecu ?? error codes


jdm213
08-31-2013, 12:35 AM
before i ask just letting you all know I did do research on this and havent foundgood info just half assed comments...
I just want to know if theres a way to read the "j4"ecu for trouble codes im having some sort of performance issue and i want to check for any codes before i start to investigate any further any body with a j4 have any experince your help woud be much a ppreciated :x::x::x::x:

jdm213
09-01-2013, 12:08 AM
doesent anybody have a take on this

cotbu
09-01-2013, 02:12 AM
Yes, there's options. wire up CONSULT port, and use a consult program. Or CONSULT itself with the proper card. Solder in an led on the ecu, also wire up pin24 IIRC, run it through the dash connector for the check engine light. This way, your check engine light will flash the codes on the dash.
CONSULT programs:NDS, consult-free, and ECUtalk. All will read stored codes and allow you to clear them.

jdm213
09-01-2013, 06:39 PM
cool im trying to leqrn more info on the ecu talk isnt there a sytem where i can hook up a lap top to my ecu or the port and hook it up and see whats up thanks for ur info tho

jdm213
09-01-2013, 07:10 PM
i think thats cool i can just opurchase the cable withsoftware and hook up my laptop to it