PDA

View Full Version : s14 sr wiring questions/problems


hunterw
08-24-2013, 06:23 PM
Ok ive searched and seaeched..but no luck....

Backstory...

I bought a s14 sr20 about 3 years ago, dropped it in a 87 mazda b2000 truck. Havemt really messed with it due to workibg on the suspension and frame work on the truck. Well recently I finally started messing with it and with help got it to run. But the more I tore into the harness I found some problems..which brings me here...


The harness was tucked clean, BUT when I bought the motor he cut wires from his s13 chassis from the harness... it turns out he spliced the o2 sensor signal wire into the vtc signal wire... (both brown wires) but cut it farther down and its a dead end. So im wondering if the signal wire should see 5v or 12v?


He also cut a blue w/black stripe wire from a purple plug that goes to my iacv.. I have no idea where its supposed to go... any help. And ive looked at my pinoit a million times but its not on there..

And since the motor isnt going into a s chassis..im not sure where I hook up (if I even have to) the neutral position sensor, if so is it a ground?
Also the start signal?
And do I hook up the ecu power wire to a switch or constant? Same with the ecu backup power. They were all spliced together when I got the harness. ..thanks for any help!

jr_ss
08-24-2013, 07:50 PM
VTC solenoid should see 5v.

Starter signal comes from the ignition switch.

Nuetral safety switch can be left unplugged, but you'll be able to start it in gear, so be cautious doing so.

hunterw
08-25-2013, 02:10 AM
Ok cool. I ended up hooking the vtc to a switched 12v but I can fix that. I got everything else figured out o believe. Motor ran amazing tonight. .im stoked

soundboy
08-29-2013, 08:58 PM
How's the van handling the power? Extremely wild? Reviews mate

Sent from my GT-P3110 using Tapatalk 4

hunterw
09-08-2013, 08:33 AM
Well I thoight I had everything ready to turn key over start. But when I turned key over... no spark to coil packs again. I need to fix my cas plug which im doing today but im wondering...

What needs to 12v constant and what needs to see switched? I had every power wire frombthe ecu to switched except the ecu power back up and that was constant. Any help would be awesome.

hunterw
09-08-2013, 08:37 AM
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e321/hunterw86/935249_616102115085693_1770918113_n.jpg

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e321/hunterw86/931294_659741257385150_1840152614_n.jpg

Heres some pics of the truck and motor. . Irrelevant I know but enjoyable