PDA

View Full Version : First project car issues

Iwannakitty
07-20-2013, 09:12 PM
Hello,I have obtained a 240sx through a local auction where I live, and have been trying to fix it up. This is my first project car and it has been causing me some headaches and I'm looking for some advice for someone who is really new to fixing cars.

All the changes I've done so far are:
Ecu (Car was missing when I got it)
New battery (Again, missing)
New starter
Replaced the oilpan
Soldered on A Maf Pigtail (Was cut from the wiring harness)

I have two issues at this point:

The car after those changes were made was running extremely rich, the spark plugs were black, the tailpipe was coughing out black smoke, and occasionally if given some throttle, it would backfire, the engine was shaking a little more than was comfortable, and the idle was very rough. This was happening 2 weeks ago, and I had to run off for a little while, so I parked it in my garage for the time, Now I come back with some break cleaner to check for leaks, and when I turn the key, the idle is crazy rough, the engine turns over, but it only stays on for like 5-7 seconds, whereas before it would stay on for a minute or so before shutting off. The wheel and the shifter start shaking badly too. I'm not seeing any black smoke come out of the tailpipe, but when I step on the throttle when it's on, there is also a huge delay, sometime it doesn't seem to even respond to it. Checked ECU and am getting 55 for a code, so no help there. I'm kind of stuck as to what this is and what I should do. And before anyone asks, I did add some gas too it too, thinking it might be that.