PDA

View Full Version : engine/tranny lag

TheNooB
07-17-2013, 07:03 PM
just randomly last week my engine and tranny lag hard and i have no idea what could be causing it to work so bad. accelerating is a bitch its as if the car is being held back by some greater force.. the harder i press the gas the worst the acceleration. also i have to do an oil change just now but i dont think the oil would mess up performance like this. its auto btw and it takes super long for the car to go into 3rd gear but when it does i get alot of torque at once but still accelerates really slow its a ka24de one last thing ive been using a kill switch to start my car probably for two months now but beside that the car runs fine im just gettin exrta knocking sound which i believe are comin from the upper timing chain please help its my dd:smash:

bova17
07-17-2013, 07:24 PM
ac on? lol thats my problem

AsleepAltima
07-17-2013, 07:34 PM
thats usually the first sign of a torque converter going out.

bova17
07-17-2013, 07:37 PM
^that too, you should just swap it. its easy if you have a few friends.

WOTandSDWYS
07-17-2013, 07:42 PM
How does it act when you come to a full stop? Is it idling low or maybe feel like it's wanting to stall? And on acceleration is it bucking at all? If you're getting a rough acceleration, then possibly a tune up could help, but the entire problem could be with the transmission too. And since the fuel lines are easy to take off on these engines, a fuel pressure test would take no time if you have a gauge. That would, while not completely eliminating any engine issues, point to it being all in the trans. Let us know bud.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

TheNooB
07-17-2013, 08:13 PM
@ bova17 the day the problem started I was using the ac a lot but now even when it's off it's doing it..

How much is a torque converter and how hard is it to put on?? Tune up happening very soon too.

The car doesn't buck like idle wise car is fine slowing down the cars fine