PDA

View Full Version : Ka24 running rich???


glenn253
07-10-2013, 05:05 PM
hey guys im new to the 240 family. im just picked up a 240 and the guy i bought the car from said its running rich and when i drove it home it was like i was driving a diesel... dumping black smoke out of the tail pipe and i went and checked the ecu and the trouble codes wer 12,11,41 which i think would be the map sensor, maf sensor, and timing. please help. here are a couple of pictures also. i have no idea why the air flow is pointing the wrong way. maybe this is part of the problem please help! i have no idead what the guys before me did


http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y382/glenn_owens1/s14enginebay001_zps37c899c2.jpg
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y382/glenn_owens1/s14enginebay003_zpsc1fd3cf7.jpg
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y382/glenn_owens1/s14enginebay002_zps707b67bf.jpg
http://i1272.photobucket.com/albums/y382/glenn_owens1/s14enginebay004_zps7ad91ee9.jpg

2tonecoupegrl
07-10-2013, 05:17 PM
For sure you need to flip the MAF, it looks like there's loose wires in the engine bay, be sure to clean those up before an electrical fire happens. Btw welcome to the forum and good luck with fixing it!

glenn253
07-10-2013, 05:19 PM
For sure you need to flip the MAF

how would i do this? just turn it around and re bolt it up?

2tonecoupegrl
07-10-2013, 05:22 PM
It looks like you have an adapter so you'll have to use that but flip the whole housing and then connect the filter and then use the adjustable clamps to re mount it.

glenn253
07-10-2013, 05:23 PM
Take off that adapter and then use the adjustable clamps to re mount it.

ok thank you. do you think this will fix the problem so it doesnt show up on the ecu anymore?

2tonecoupegrl
07-10-2013, 05:28 PM
It should help for sure, but again those wires look messed up so you'd want to fix all of the issues then clear the ecu by taking off the negative battery terminal for 20 min then open the door to drain the residual current in the system, re connect the battey terminal and you'll have to drive around for a while till the ecu sets its self.

That's just based on my own experience :)

glenn253
07-10-2013, 06:49 PM
It should help for sure, but again those wires look messed up so you'd want to fix all of the issues then clear the ecu by taking off the negative battery terminal for 20 min then open the door to drain the residual current in the system, re connect the battey terminal and you'll have to drive around for a while till the ecu sets its self.

That's just based on my own experience :)

Flipping the maf help out a whole bunch!!! no more black smoke when it idle's but still smokes when i rev it up, any suggestions?

Young Sileighty Kev
07-10-2013, 07:14 PM
Have you done a tune up? You just the bought the car so i think it deserves one
Is their any hesitations or stutering?
Maybe you should borrow a new maf from a friend and see if that helps or check your fuel injectors.... I've never had that problem but anyways good luck, hope i helped a little

glenn253
07-10-2013, 07:27 PM
Have you done a tune up? You just the bought the car so i think it deserves one
Is their any hesitations or stutering?
Maybe you should borrow a new maf from a friend and see if that helps or check your fuel injectors.... I've never had that problem but anyways good luck, hope i helped a little


thanks for the advice... i plan on getting a tune, oil changed, and check plugs and fuel injectors here soon

glenn253
07-18-2013, 02:23 PM
HEY!!! i just figured out that i think the stock egr was swapped with a boost egr. would that make any difference since it is not boosted? the car only pours out black smoke when the rps get high and when i step on it and accelerate fast. PLEASE HELP