PDA

View Full Version : My SR20 Build

90S13Pilot
08-05-2012, 12:03 PM
Yes another one of these... however I'm new to the SR20 motor and want to make sure I'm covering all of my bases.

I am building the motor for a street machine... not a drift vehicle or weekend race car. I would like to know other peoples experiences, and if there is anything I don't need or do need to make my build more reliable or better.

SR20DET S13 Blacktop
Motor Spun a bearing on Rod #1 and welded itself to the rod.
Block Will Be Decked, Honed, ETC... with a 86.5 MM TQ Plate.

Parts List:

CP 86.5MM Pistons 8:5:1
Eagle Rods
Mazworx Head & Main Studs
ACL Race Main & Rod Bearings
OEM Thrust Washers
Apexi Headgasket 87MM x 1.5MM
Supertech Valve Guides Intake & Exhaust
Brian Cower Stainless Intake & Exhaust Valves
S14 Oil Pump
S14 Oil Pickup
Moroso Oil Pan
SR20 Complete Gasket Kit
Timing Chain Kit
Nismo Thermostat
Water Pump
Megan Pulleys
OEM Valve Stem Seals Intake & Exhaust
Tomei Poncams 256 @11.50 lift
Brian Cower Springs & Retainers
New OEM Crankshaft

90S13Pilot
08-07-2012, 12:32 PM
Nobody must build their sr20!

di-devol
08-07-2012, 12:38 PM
I'd skip the torque plate unless it's free. If you are using tomei cams, use tomei springs, but they are not needed on PonCams anyway.

90S13Pilot
08-07-2012, 12:51 PM
I'd skip the torque plate unless it's free. If you are using tomei cams, use tomei springs, but they are not needed on PonCams anyway.

Machinist said he wanted to be extra cautious. So I had one custom made. I'll just resell it or let people rent it.

Nismo_sam
08-07-2012, 01:27 PM
List looks good to me for a street only build, doubt you'd have problems with it.

S@nt0s
08-07-2012, 02:54 PM
Yes another one of these... however I'm new to the SR20 motor and want to make sure I'm covering all of my bases.