PDA

View Full Version : CBV vs BOV

rumsawatti
12-08-2011, 10:21 AM
Whats better and why? I know they do pretty much the same thing but are there any big differences, CBV is probably more environmental friendly, lol but what would you rather run? it may seem like a noob question, but i am a noob and i dont know much about turbo systems :)

epson1
12-08-2011, 02:35 PM
the fuck is a cbv

colombianbryan
12-08-2011, 02:38 PM
circulated bypass valve???

The_Creeper
12-08-2011, 02:44 PM
Run the cbv.
not entirely sure if thats the same as what im thinking, but I'm assuming you mean a recirculating release system?

sleeper108
12-08-2011, 02:51 PM
I think he's talking about the cars that are boosted without a BOV, which as I understand is possible, but not without a ton of tuning. PBM shop people seem to know a bit about it, so I would ask them for specifics. I'll be sticking with a BOV

The_Creeper
12-08-2011, 02:55 PM
Well i just prefer recirculating systems. and its a little more sleeper style if your not going **ka-chew* when your beside someone you wanna race.

!Zar!
12-08-2011, 03:10 PM
No bov at all.

Awesome response, and sounds like a million virgin sluts singing.

ch1873857
12-08-2011, 03:33 PM
No bov at all.

:ddog: yessssssss

rumsawatti
12-08-2011, 05:22 PM
circulated bypass valve???

Almost, compressor bypass valve..it releases the pressure into the intake instead of the atmosphere, i dont think it makes the sexy blow off sound but it does the same job...

Pandapants
12-08-2011, 06:51 PM
Compressor bypass valve (CBV) / Blow off valve (BOV) (http://people.physics.anu.edu.au/~amh110/blow_off_valve.htm)

Kingtal0n
12-08-2011, 09:09 PM
If you do not run a blow-off valve, you risk damaging the turbocharger.

On a MAF based car, it is always a good idea to run a re-circulated bypass, especially on a push-type bypass valve (such as greddy type-s).

rumsawatti
12-08-2011, 09:32 PM
^this is info im looking for, thanks man.

90240sx07
12-08-2011, 10:56 PM