PDA

View Full Version : ABS Driveshaft with NON ABS Differential (Welded Diff)

hellaslows13
10-18-2011, 05:12 AM
Hey guys, I really need some help. I did some searching around but have found a ton of mixed answers that did not answer my question.

I have a 95' SE with ABS. I have an ABS Drive shaft. I replaced my ABS VLSD with a NON ABS Welded diff. I also installed subframe risers and new poly diff bushings. I noticed that there was a gap between my diff and driveshaft and was wondering, how bad is it to drive it with the drive shaft being pulled on? I've been driving like this for a few months, what could i have damaged? Also, what can I do to be able to run my welded non ABS diff on my ABS car? Do I just changed the drive shaft to a NON ABS?

I appreciate all the help, thanks.

onehundredoctane
10-18-2011, 06:01 AM
My S14 is non-abs, I installed a vlsd from an abs car, when I did that I had to replace the back half of the oem two piece drive shaft. The abs and non-abs driveshafts are a little different in lenght.

I eventually upgraded to a one piece driveshaft, but turns out it was for a non abs car, having an abs diff installed I ended up having to get the driveshaft cut 1" shorter and re-balalanced.

Firestorm
10-18-2011, 08:39 AM
i wouldnt put a non-abs diff in my abs car, because well, i'd lose ABS. but hey, each to their own.

that said, you either need a non ABS driveshaft (or at least the rear half) because the ABS driveshaft is shorter (the nose on the diff pumpkin is longer due to the sensor sitting there), or get a one piece driveshaft for a non abs car. driving with an abs driveshaft on a non abs diff could either cause the front driveshaft yoke to snap, or destroy the output shaft on the tranny, because the shaft isnt slid on completely.

also it could cause transmission oil leakage and failure of the center bushing of the driveshaft since you "pulled" the driveshaft further to the rear to bolt up to the diff.