PDA

View Full Version : Broken injector?

coupe92
09-28-2011, 01:27 PM
Ok, so upon replacing my o rings, which I've never done before, I assumed it ok to use a small screwdriver to help pull the o rings over the middle section of my 370cc sr injector. Upon doing so, I heard a slight tearing sound, and promptly checked the victim area. What I saw was a slight puncture to the sort of soft area in the middle of the injector. This really worries me, I think I might have ruined the injector, but I don't know. It's just a very slight dent, maybe a verrry small crack. Am I screwed? Bad quality pic below showing the area I am talking about.

ILoveJDM
09-28-2011, 01:44 PM
you need a better picture then that man..

is it just the mesh filter thats broken? or the case? or the internals?

s14unimog
09-28-2011, 01:47 PM
just send it to RC engineering and have it tested/repaired. They do great work and when it comes to injectors on a boosted engine, it's not worth the risk. Having said that, those look filthy, I would send them all in. You would be surprised how they might flow. number them according to your cylinder arrangement for problem referencing later.

coupe92
09-28-2011, 01:48 PM
In the spot where the picture indicates, there is a small rip. Is this critical to the injector functioning right?

coupe92
09-28-2011, 01:51 PM
Its hard to dish out money on a set of 80 dollar injectors. I'm gonna go ahead and run them, the others are ok. If I have a problem I'll know to check the injectors.

s14unimog
09-28-2011, 02:40 PM
Its hard to dish out money on a set of 80 dollar injectors. I'm gonna go ahead and run them, the others are ok. If I have a problem I'll know to check the injectors.

I'm not suggesting you purchase a new injector but I will forewarn you. IF there is a problem... you won't need to check the injector, lol.

coupe92
09-28-2011, 07:36 PM