PDA

View Full Version : Running rich/high idle

NYTwo4tee
06-06-2011, 05:59 PM
I posted this over on ka-t but i get a response maybe every 3 days so this is being a pretty slow process. But my 240 (Ka24de-t) is running pretty rich (i think its the atmospheric BOV so I'm in the process of making that recirculated) and also has a high idle. Before the car wouldnt even idle, it would jump around and eventually bog out, so I messed around with the timing a little and it's not idling but high at 1200 rpms. I'm not sure if itll keep idle off a cold start though (car was warmed up and the idle stayed). But when I rev the car up itll just die when the rpms fall. Current ideas I've been told are: clean the IACV, set timing back to spec, and a couple other things back to spec. the AFR at idle (right now 1200 rpms) was 17.2 and the 02 was reading 4.57. I'll also check for vaccuum leaks (I'll look up how to do that but I have a good idea as to how)

Any thoughts on how to fix this? I'm new to the 240 scene, and F/I also.

heres some of the stuff done to the car:

Enthalpy ROM-tuned ECU and adapter harness
Apex'i AFC Neo fuel controller
top mount EMUSA T3/To4e turbo
ssqv atmospheric BOV (now has a 29mm adapter but no hose to run it)
300zxTT fuel filter
Oil catch can
Apex'i turbo timer
Manual boost controller
EGR blockoff
Sard 550cc injectors
Z32 MAF with adapter and filter
Walbro 255 fuel pump
Megan Racing adjustable fuel pressure regulator
3" stainless downpipe, midpipe w/flex, and apexi resonator/cut off catback
Blackworks aluminum radiator
Silicone radiator hoses

Also has an SAFC but I have no idea how to go about trying to use that to "trick" the MAF which I heard was a bad idea

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pro ViZIon
06-07-2011, 03:11 PM
Dumb question. But did you get the appropriate tune for those injectors?

Oh and what is your fuel pressure at idle?

NYTwo4tee
06-07-2011, 04:03 PM
Dumb question. But did you get the appropriate tune for those injectors?