PDA

View Full Version : sr20det cutting out

sr20boi
11-13-2010, 08:28 AM
i just recently installed a new turbo in to my s13 sr20det redtop since i had blown my turbo seals on my stock one. its boosting 12 lbs but starts to cut out around 4500rpm... its all stock with a fmic, pullies and an exhaust. I havent messed with the turbo or anything that is the way i got it out the box with the 12lbs. what do you guys suggest i should do to get it running nice? I also want to put a diffrent mafbut idk what kind. Thanks for the input!

blue rexsti
11-16-2010, 11:34 AM
I just had a cutoff issue at approx. 3000 rpm. My problem was maf related, a short in the maf sensor signal wire. Since maf issues are relative to either rpm cutting out or rpms being limited, you might want to check into other maf possibilities. What turbo did you get? I'm pretty sure ppl run z32 mafs and q45 mafs for larger turbos but I have no real experience with anything but stock turbos

Sileighty_85
11-16-2010, 01:09 PM
Out the Box?

What turbo did you buy?

If its not a stock turbo then more than likely your maxing out the injectors running lean and causing it to miss fire

sr20boi
11-16-2010, 03:59 PM
i had blown the turbo seals on my stock turbo so i just bought another one the same size... t25. its boosting 12lbs. that is what it was set at when i had gotten it installed so maybe its boosting toomuch ? i also figured it could be my fuel pump so im going to buy a 255walbro for it and if that doesnt solve it ill get a different maf but i sure hope it does.... some one also said it could be that my cold sleeve gets loose when i punch it causing it to bogg...?

KaminaSan
11-16-2010, 06:40 PM