PDA

View Full Version : problems with coilovers

240sx1234
09-01-2010, 07:40 PM
I bought a pair of isis coilovers recently (hate all you want), but now they are squeaking. I think it was the installers "friend and i" that did something wrong. First off, when i jack the front up the springs arent compressed at all they can turn easily with your hand. and there is a metal o ring above the spring that is bent up from where it sat on the spring. When I turn the wheel slightly its a loud squeak,and it does it until i stop turning the wheel. the spring not being compressed( besides the noise) is whats worrying me the most. Also when im driving and hit a bump, it kinda feels like something pops.its hard to describe. if you can help that would be great ill try to get pics up soon. and i know im a noob:-/

Pandapants
09-01-2010, 07:46 PM
when installing coilovers, the spring should have some,but not a lot, of preload. There should be enough that there's no vertical movement of the spring but you should still be able to turn the spring on the spring seat with your hand.

240sx1234
09-01-2010, 08:18 PM
there is alot of vertical movement on my spring when the car is jacked up,maybe i twisted the wrong part to raise/lower it?

240sx1234
09-02-2010, 08:28 PM
bump to the top,someone help me please and thanks

Cr8zyDrifter
09-02-2010, 08:33 PM
Its a shame really, all these people, so full of knowledge. No 1 fucking person willing to help. guess if your not in cali. you get a big pile of shit on your face bro. sorry if i knew i would help you.

Maiku240sxS14
09-02-2010, 08:42 PM
I am no expert, but from what I can tell on my own car. When the car is jacked up I have no play in the spring. When I installed the coilovers, I just did enough pre-load where I can barely turn the spring with one hand.

Pictures might help, but I would adjust the pre-load and see if that fixes your problem.

240sx1234
09-02-2010, 08:58 PM
how do you adjust the pre load?

Maiku240sxS14
09-02-2010, 09:12 PM