PDA

View Full Version : new at autocross, what mods to avoid

cdlong
07-27-2003, 08:33 PM
well, i got my 240 about 2 months ago and recently realized that i want to race it. i'm new at autocrossing so i don't know what i'm doing. i want to remain competitive so i want to stick with the lowest class possible. my car isn't really safe to race yet so i have some time before i start, probably next season. i've got some question on what route to go. btw, i drive a '92 hatch. the only mod i have is an intake and removed clutch fan, which i believe bumps me out of stock class so i guess i'll start one up from there.

brakes- my brakes suck, i at least need to fix them, but i want to upgrade to 300zx brakes. is that going to change my classification? if yes, what should i avoid?

suspension- i am getting a set of eibach pros, kyb agx, and a STB used for pretty cheap, and i'm planning on replacing all the bushings and maybe subframe spacers, same question. it there anything else i could/should do without changing classes?

what about tires? again, mine suck. i want to get new wheels and good street tires for the summer and put snow tires on my stock wheels. should i do that, or get better tires on the new wheels and all seasons on the stockers? any better ideas? remember i live in ohio and snow+RWD+light weight=suck.

i would really like to get started right away and improve with my car but like i said, my car isn't safe to race right now. i don't want to replace parts only to upgrade them later.

one last easy one, is there anything i need, besides a helmet? would it be kosher to just ask someone to borrow theirs? thanks guys.

thelinja
07-27-2003, 09:10 PM
Ok, to remain in stock class, I'd put the clutch fan, and stock airbox back on. Just get a K&N filter.