PDA

View Full Version : KA24DE EGR Valve Replacement

JdmTyteYo
06-23-2010, 08:45 AM
Hey guys im trying to replace my egr valve but some bolts are hard to get to

i was wondering if anyone knew the steps/process of what to take off in order to get to all the bolts successfully

like the intake manifold for example? i was thinking if i took that off that i can somewhat have easier access to some of the bolts.

sorry im a complete noob :axe:

thanks guys!

http://i47.tinypic.com/20tqgc6.jpg

thanks guys!

JdmTyteYo
06-23-2010, 01:57 PM
anyone? :[

SmallTownDrifter
05-07-2011, 10:59 PM
I'm stuck there too I was able to take of one of the smaller blots (12mm) don't know how to reach the other one or hat big ass line

dued
05-07-2011, 11:24 PM
Hey, I've been reading alot about this procedure lately as my EGR system needs to be serviced too. I've been reading that you need a "crows foot" tool to access some of the parts/bolts on the EGR system. Also, in the meantime; take a look at this thread: http://zilvia.net/f/tech-talk/372184-trouble-passimg-smog-your-ka-look-here.html

^ This guy was having EGR / smog passing problems and cleaned out some of the system this way.

chiboy002
05-08-2011, 12:10 AM
the 3 12mm bolts between the manifold under the runners are easy to get to, you just need a swivel socket, preferably 12mm built into it and some patience

use a 1/4" drive one since its smaller

for the huge ass tube, which is the hard part, most people just cut it and then put a deep socket on it and break it off. Replace the entire tube with a new one, its cleaner and it'll be easier to work with in the future. It's been there for 12+ years, constantly heating and cooling and somewhat corroded, so it'll be pretty seized up so you can't just use a wrench to get it off easily.

they sell bung plugs to block it off, and just make a squid (ghetto) or braze the manifold or the part that connects from the EGR to the manifold shut.

The rest is just vacuum lines and the BPT valve