PDA

View Full Version : Car won't start....HELP!!


malemodel69
04-17-2010, 11:40 PM
Here is the situation:

Relocated the battery to the trunk. It had a tough time starting with the 4 gauge wire. So i took it for a spin, and the damn coupling on the intercooler pipe came off. Parked it tightened the coupler, now the car won't start. My starter was at the end of its life by this time.

So here is what I did since then:

1. Rebuilt the starter and tested to make sure it runs.
2. Got an optima battery with 750cca (old one was too damn small).
3. Ran a 1/0 gauge wire instead of the dinky 4guage.
4. Checked the battery connections and made sure nothing was loose.
:smash:
[The car runs fine, because i pushed it down the hill and it fired right up plus it ran like a champ.]


This is what is happening:

1. I get power for all accessories. :doh:
2. With the key in the start position and the head lights on - the lights don't dim and the car does not start. :madfawk:
3. I hear a click coming from the alarm control unit - but the car does not have an alarm system - this was probably left in there by the previous owner.
4. I suck at wiring! :ugh:

So can anyone pinpoint the problem? Or guide me in the right direction? Any help or suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks in advance and please let me know if something is unclear - I've had a long day and couldn't wait to crack a beer open... :tardrim:


If it helps:
S14 95'
RB25DET S2 98'

AS240
04-18-2010, 10:57 PM
i had that problem in my old ka. relocating the battery and running 1 ott wire fixed it. turned out to be a shitty ground. check all your grounds. dont forget to scrape paint/crap off wherever you ground it. now i have mine grounded in two places. ground cable goes from the battery terminal, to one of the bolts that holds the tail lights on (s13 hatch) and then back down to the floor in the hatch.

cleantune
04-18-2010, 11:10 PM
i had that problem in my old ka. relocating the battery and running 1 ott wire fixed it. turned out to be a shitty ground. check all your grounds. dont forget to scrape paint/crap off wherever you ground it. now i have mine grounded in two places. ground cable goes from the battery terminal, to one of the bolts that holds the tail lights on (s13 hatch) and then back down to the floor in the hatch.

^ true that. Make sure the original ground to the battery is grounded well on the chassis in addition to the ground in the trunk. Back in the day I almost threw this wire away haha

malemodel69
04-19-2010, 02:39 AM
Whooray!

Buddy of mine looked at the car and figure it out right away. I guess the solenoid wire was connected to the wrong wiring harness (i have 2 in there). One from the RB and and old one from the KA. Whoever did my wiring job (won't speak of this person here) is an idiot. Well next step will be to make one harness out of 2. HAHA that will be fun. Thanks guys for the replys. Btw, i already have 2 grounds running to the battery, I did that just in case and i'm sure it helps. THanks again. :rl: