PDA

View Full Version : Solid endlink suspension pieces...long term widening of bolt holes?

jspaeth
02-08-2010, 10:09 AM
I have been running essentially solid-link everything for the past 3-4 years, except for lower arms and the bushings pressed into the knuckles.

I wanted to see (from the more experienced people who have built/driven/taken apart many different 240s) if in your experience, over time, does daily driving a car like this cause the "holes" where you put the bolts throught to "widen", creating play in the suspension.

I could imagine/am worried that over time, for example, the holes in the subframe where the toe/camber arms in the rear bolt to could get "widened" or open up a bit from all of the bumps when daily driving.

Does anyone hear do any welding of anything to get around this? (i.e. welding a nut or washer in the right place to re-create a proper-sized hole for the bolt?)

Just wondering and interested.

projectRDM
02-08-2010, 03:37 PM
I tore down nearly a hundred cars when I was parting out 240s years ago. I've never seen anything like that from an OE standpoint, and all the OE spots are usually reinforced somewhat. The LCA to tension rod is the only place where the steel is thin enough to easily stress, and I have seen that using aftermarket urethane bushings. The spindle, upright, crossmember, and subframe are all pretty stout.

slider2828
02-08-2010, 04:20 PM
I've never seen anything like that.... I think it will only widen if there was play to begin with on the subframe.... Overall I don't think there is that much movement in those arms in general.... IMHO.

jspaeth
02-08-2010, 06:29 PM