PDA

View Full Version : tranny drain bolt stripped

cumbewong
12-30-2009, 12:17 PM
this is my first time draining my tranny and when i went to go do it, this is what i found :/

http://img684.imageshack.us/img684/3769/photo0071ky.jpg
http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/5762/photo0072h.jpg
http://img268.imageshack.us/img268/3370/photo0073u.jpg

it just keeps slipping :[ and it seems there is some gasket seal as well..

is there any way to take this off?? please help me out :wtc:

aznpoopy
12-30-2009, 12:34 PM
easiest thing to do is probably weld something to it.

other dumb ideas that may work:
fill the inside with something to take up the slack between the sides and the breaker bar. a thin rag or something may do the trick.
take a (disposable) undersized socket or spiral tap, hammer it onto the exterior.
file down the circumference to make two flat edges and then put a wrench on it.
yeah i've actually done all of these before.

Ben G
12-30-2009, 12:34 PM
a drill then use a tap to re thread the inside and put in a new plug in... how many miles on your tranny by the way?

stinky_180
12-30-2009, 02:10 PM
it looks like theres some sort of 'thread locker'. try torching it

clark
12-30-2009, 02:29 PM
a drill then use a tap to re thread the inside and put in a new plug in... how many miles on your tranny by the way?

ugh looks like your drain plug has chlamydia

just what this guy said!

either a HUGE ass extractor OR drill a hole right through deep enough so you can fit a decently sized bolt extractor.

if you dont' already ahve a set, now's the time to get one anyawys:

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_00966196000P?vName=Tools&keyword=bolt+extractor

Touge180sx
12-30-2009, 02:39 PM
This happened to my buddys car, Just weld a bolt head to it and remove.

yukon
12-30-2009, 02:44 PM
either the rag condom idea over the .5 male adapter o

devnull
12-30-2009, 02:49 PM
That is what happens when you use an impact wrench on a drain plug.

om3ga
12-30-2009, 04:02 PM