PDA

View Full Version : Kyb Agx Install

RacerTrue
05-14-2003, 11:35 AM
hello, i would like to know how difficult and what to expect from AGX damper installation on my 1995 s14.

a list of all necessary tools and maybe a step by step prcoess and/or links to informative sites will be GREATLY APPRECIATED, i am new to cars, but i have done my own tune ups, intake install, brake install, and some minor and basic stuff. but i want to keep learning how to work on my car. plus i also have read about some nightmare stories of shops messing stuff up, I WOULD rather be responsible and now have to go trhought the hassle of sueing, etc.

THANKS!@!

uiuc240
05-14-2003, 12:06 PM
If you did the brakes, you're close. You need these things:

2 17mm wrenches/sockets for the strut-to-spindle bolts
14mm socket (IIRC) for the strut tower bolts
Spring compressor (rent from Autozone/Napa/Pep Boys)
17 or 19mm socket for the strut top nut (can't remember which)
Liquid Wrench for stubborn bolts
Torque wrench

I think that's about it. It's been a while though. I can't remember everything. It's really not a tough job. Basically common sense if you take 15 minutes and just look at all the parts.

Eric

andrave
05-14-2003, 12:27 PM
top nut is 17.
autozone lets you borrow the spring compressors for free if you leave a deposit (you get it back).
you will want 1/2" sockets and a long ratchet handle cause the lower strut bolts are stubborn.
I'd soak everything in pb blaster the night before you plan on attacking it.

other than its pretty easy.

uuninja
05-14-2003, 12:48 PM
The rear shocks are the toughest, only becasue you have to remove the rear deck lid to access the bolts. Aside from that it is a piece of cake.

RacerTrue
05-14-2003, 01:06 PM