PDA

View Full Version : Optimum Intercooler Piping Setup

Pure_JDM
10-13-2009, 04:23 PM
Hey guys, new to the s-chassis, and my first question for ya is regarding FMIC piping sizes. I'm no newbie to turboed cars, which in turn is why I'm asking... because I know all turbo setups are different in their own ways. My specific question is should I convert all the 2 inch piping that came with this SR20DET swap to 2.5 to match the inetercooler inlets i have as well as the throttle body, or should I leave it all 2 inch with reducers all over the place?

As it sits, it comes out of the turbo 2 inch through the hotpipe into a reducer coupler to a 2.5 in inlet on the FMIC, then it reduces back to 2 inch after the FMIC, makes a bend, and turns into 2.5in piping right before the throttle body.

My guess would be to make it come out of the turbo 2 inches like it is, turn it immediately into 2.5 inch piping, and have 2.5 all the way through the FMIC to the throttle body.

What do you guys think/ what has been proven most efficient?

- and don't flame. I did search but came up with SOOO many off the wall topics (as you can guess searching pipe, intercooler, and size on a forum like this)

HYPNOTIK
10-13-2009, 04:58 PM
Are you still using a stock turbo? If so it's probly fine how it is. If you were running a bigger turbo I'd match the turbo side piping to whatever the outlet on the turbo is and match the other side to the throttle body. That might not be the correct way but that's how I would do it. I know there is a scientific way to do this so it keeps a balance of the most flow and velocity but I don't know what it is.

Pure_JDM
10-13-2009, 05:21 PM