PDA

View Full Version : KA buildup

mjjstang
04-30-2003, 09:12 AM
Hi I just aquired a ka24de (dont rag on me that I have no apreciation for the 240 and that im just a newbie and I dont deserve it and im just going to get a 240 because I have an engine for it, because that is not the reason.) Well I want to know what parts you guys would reccomend for a build up. I want to put in new pistons, rings, rods, bearings, valves, springs, cams, and crankshaft. How much boost could I have safely with a totally rebuilt engine and where is a good place to get these parts. Thanks.

AKADriver
04-30-2003, 10:26 AM
Noone makes aftermarket crankshafts for this engine. You're stuck with stock. Not a big deal, stock is steel and very strong.

For the rest of it... someone with a built turbo KA will chime in.

s13cruzer
04-30-2003, 10:33 AM
i have seen quite a few aftermarket crankshafts made for that engine , first and foremost PDM-racing has them cuz they have a special deal worked out with colt cams

AKADriver
04-30-2003, 10:35 AM
uhhhh

those are camshafts.

camshafts are not crankshafts.

turbo240sx
04-30-2003, 11:39 AM
forged rods and pistons are a good start and 8.5:1 compression. and quality machine work i cant express that enough. JE's are a good start for pistons and carillo rods. stock crank is strong enough for a turbo application. you can have gobs of TQ with a turbo KA. boost you can go to 25 psi with proper feul management. get a hold of CIPmotorsports.com he can get you the stuff you need.

Jeff240sx
05-01-2003, 11:11 AM
You could always have Crower cut you a billet forged crank for your car (destroked) along with some custom rods.
Last I heard, it was about $3000
-Jeff

kalieaire
05-01-2003, 11:28 AM
Originally posted by Jeff240sx
You could always have Crower cut you a billet forged crank for your car (destroked) along with some custom rods.
Last I heard, it was about $3000
-Jeff

cranks alone are ~2600 bux. they're normally only cut from billet. not forged.