PDA

View Full Version : RTV won't stay on!

dongoesby
07-19-2009, 03:44 AM
So I cleaned the upper oil pan today for my SR, and I put the red RTV supplied in the gasket kit from Nissan. I'm not sure if I put on the RTV right because it is my first time doing it. As told by the FSM, I put 5mm RTV in a continuous form; however, about 1 hour later, I see the RTV that compressed out on the edge has became solid and fell fall. It separated from the rest.

Did I put too much? Is this okay? I'm sure I torqued them right.

GSXRJJordan
07-19-2009, 03:55 AM
RTV is special because it 'squishes' down to a VERY thin layer while still sealing tight... if you added too much, you would have seen it squish out the sides right as you were torquing it down....

... anyway, as long as it's fairly uniform (meaning there's not some parts with RTV coming out, and some parts where you can't see RTV at all), you should be fine.

dongoesby
07-19-2009, 01:58 PM
Yea, I've seen that thin layer "squishes" out on all the water pump and water necks that I did before. It appears to be squished out evenly on all sides, same as the oil pan. However, toward to the front of the oil pan, where near the crank pulley, had a whole chunk of RTV squished out and solid'd out and fell off.

RTV is special because it 'squishes' down to a VERY thin layer while still sealing tight... if you added too much, you would have seen it squish out the sides right as you were torquing it down....

... anyway, as long as it's fairly uniform (meaning there's not some parts with RTV coming out, and some parts where you can't see RTV at all), you should be fine.

aznpoopy
07-19-2009, 06:59 PM
i wouldn't worry about it.

the important part was cleaning out that groove along the oil pan mating surface.

Shadowhunter
07-19-2009, 08:44 PM