PDA

View Full Version : Help me sort out my suspension woes!

Jonas427
12-27-2008, 11:58 PM
I recently bought an S13 that was lowered by the previous owner. The inside of the tires are wearing like crazy (mostly from toe I suppose), and the front right strut is broken. I believe it is a Koni strut. Could someone verify that? So, my plan is to buy a replacement Koni strut, some SPL tie rod ends/Z32 inner tie rods, and SPL toe rods. Then I want to get it aligned. How does that sound? I would also like to buy camber plates and RUCA‘s, but I am strapped for cash right now. Could anyone tell my what type of sleeve/spring setup this is? I have no idea. I'm new to this stuff. Thanks.

Broken strut. Is it a Koni?
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j214/Jonas427/100_3745-1.jpg

Can you tell me anything about this setup?
http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j214/Jonas427/100_3740-1.jpg

5t341tH
12-28-2008, 12:13 AM
looks like any ebay coil-sleeve thingy. its only 1 way adjustable and they seemed to have drooped the spring all the way down to get low. u can tighten it back up. see if that solves your shitty suspension dampening

Slammed Assassin
12-28-2008, 01:00 AM
try getting some coilovers, youll like em at the end..get some used ones if u dont have much bank..the setup u have rite now is pretty much gone/trash..dont reuse the ebay springs..might blow your new struts if u go that way..good luck!

dorkjoey240
12-28-2008, 02:42 AM
Time to upgrade the end..

Jonas427
12-28-2008, 11:06 AM
Thanks for all the replies. I think I'm going to go with a less expensive or used set of coilovers.

xs240
12-28-2008, 11:12 AM
Visit nissanroadracing.com if they are konis for help before trashing them.

Jonas427
12-28-2008, 11:32 AM
I'm almost positive that they are Konis. The rears are, and they are yellow so...
Does anyone know anything about ground control setups? Could I salvage the shocks and go that route?

here is a shot of the rear setup