PDA

View Full Version : Is your job your career?

JGON85
10-14-2008, 10:33 AM
To all the older zilvians,
Is your current job your career?

Reason I ask is I just started a new job at a freight forwarding company, and it's a salary position that pays about 31k/yr. There are plenty of opportunities in this industry to move up, but I'm not sure if it's my career. But I definitely haven't thought/tried about going back to school to get a degree, so I'm still a bit scared/worried for my future.

How'd you know if it was your career?

aNskY
10-14-2008, 10:34 AM
yep. im an electrician.

stiizy
10-14-2008, 10:35 AM
http://zilvia.net/f/polls/193841-do-you-enjoy-your-chosen-career-career-field.html

japslapsilvia
10-14-2008, 11:43 AM
god i hope not!!!! i went to school for marketing and i am working for a pharmacutical purchasing organization as a data analyist. i do ok money wise about 42K but i cant stand it. Its boring as hell, the people (for the most part) suck, and i just plain hate the monotony of the job. if this is my "career" im going to kill myself now.

OptionZero
10-14-2008, 11:54 AM
By the time you get up to 25, you really should have started "career" mode, imo.

but then i'm 3 years deep in law school and too tired to do anything else if i flame out (knock on wood)

WanganRunner
10-14-2008, 12:28 PM
I'm in Real Estate Private Equity, I'm an Asset Manager for a small Dutch direct-investment fund and I supervise all Development activities.

I'm pretty happy with it, I love the company, they're paying for part of my MBA. I expect to stay in REPE after grad school, although I may decide to defect to Carlyle as the comp will probably be like 2x what I'd get here.

Loving it now though, and it's definitely a career.

Fat Felix
10-14-2008, 12:33 PM
I'm in Real Estate Private Equity, I'm an Asset Manager for a small Dutch direct-investment fund and I supervise all Development activities.