PDA

View Full Version : Missing mafs plug(I think)


Bubbles
08-02-2008, 09:41 PM
I was going to extend the mafs but my harness doesn't have a plug still in tact and there is no plug left in the actual piece.

Does that make sense?

Do I just need the little plug? I searched ebay and became more confused.

This seems so stupid, am I high and missing something?

BTW - Redtop SR

Addicted2Kouki
08-02-2008, 10:31 PM
Show pictures.
and yes, you need the plug if you want your car to run correctly

drftthatshit
08-03-2008, 02:50 PM
dont ever mess with splicing wires exspecially to extend your maf plug it is to tricky and can screw up everything

Bubbles
08-03-2008, 04:12 PM
Show pictures.
and yes, you need the plug if you want your car to run correctly

I need it but......

dont ever mess with splicing wires exspecially to extend your maf plug it is to tricky and can screw up everything


I don't.


I haven't spliced it yet because I can't. Basically the end of my harness didn't come with the plug and my MAFS doesn't have the plug still hooked into it.

Can I just buy that plug for cheap and hook it up?

ho1ywars
08-03-2008, 06:00 PM
you can get the plug at a junkyard. its the same maf as the sohc ka maf.

i extended my maf harness by about four feet before i went with my map setup and iddnt have a problem.

if you cant find a plug at a junkyard, let me know, i probably still have mine laying around.

drftthatshit
08-04-2008, 07:53 PM
well im not saying that u kant extend the wires up to the maf all im saying is that if you really have never spliced wires befor maybe you should get some practice before you splice wires to a maf sensor but to answer this guys question yea go to a junkyard or call up tougefactory or go on there website tougefactory.com gurennte they will have it or point you in a very good direction

Propaganda
08-05-2008, 12:45 AM
Well.. you don't actually have to take a trip to the junkyard to get a new plug. You can just go to RadioShack and get connectors that you crimp on and then just plug it into the correct part of where the plug went. I can take a picture of how I did mine.

I've pretty sure you need to get shielded wire to extend your MAFS wires

Bubbles
08-05-2008, 01:10 AM
Wiring in general is owning me.

I thought there would be like 50 SR geniuses in here taking me to school, oh well.


Anyway,

The stock mafs hookup and the one I have DEFINITELY do not line up. The plug hookups are different shapes and have a different amount of prongs.

I doubt I can find one in a junkyard since I live in America. Unless I am mistaken.


Also I still have a few plugs here and there that are not completed. Excluding the mafs I have did everything I have read.

I can understand the SR having leftover shit but for some reason the chassis seems like there should be more hooked up.


Can anybody help? Guides?

FRoSt415
08-05-2008, 11:52 AM
Ok ok let me explain the sr can use the sohc maf but the shape is different and i think that either u have a sohc maf or a sohc maf plug and a sr maf. so you can either cut and match up the wires its very simple and self explanitory 3 wires in each and all are white, black, black/white just match em up and your good.

About the junkyard thing either get a plug at the junkyard from a sohc s13 and then u can run the sohc maf with the same plug. or just splice and plug in with the right connectors u can buy at kragen i did that for about a month but it looked ugly so i went to the junkyard and got a plug and a sohc maf.

THere is going to be a few plugs left over from the harness like the eacv, boost silinoid if your motor came with one or not and a few others i forgot what they were.

LOOK here for morre help on wires http://http://www.frsport.com/SR20DET-Swap-Engine-Harness-Wiring-Diagram-Guide-SR-SR20_t_26.html. ALso take some pics of the wires and were they come from so we can help u out more. let me know if u dont understand and ill explain in more detail.

Bubbles
08-06-2008, 12:07 AM
Last night before I posted I wired the ka mafs.

I want to use the other one, is there any difference?

ho1ywars
08-06-2008, 07:58 PM
which KA? sohc or dohc. cause the sohc is the same maf as the s13 sr20. take pics of the plugs you are unsure about, i might beable to point you in the right direction with a few.

Propaganda
08-06-2008, 08:07 PM
which KA? sohc or dohc. cause the sohc is the same maf as the s13 sr20. take pics of the plugs you are unsure about, i might beable to point you in the right direction with a few.
SOHC and SR20 mafs are not the same. They are close, but not the same. I think the resolution is off a bit when using the SOHC maf, but you probably won't notice the difference.

aNskY
08-06-2008, 08:09 PM
you can get generic / universal male and female plugs from napa or the like. or just hardwire it lol

s15specR
08-06-2008, 08:26 PM
^ that would be the cheapest, I have the plug you're looking for from my car