PDA

View Full Version : Encountered SR20 valve train problem like this?


Silverbullet
08-02-2008, 07:18 PM
I decided to throw in the RAS i had sitting around for a year today and i came across a problem. I've installed RAS on two other SR20s years ago and never encountered such an issue.

After loosing the camshaft brackets on the intake side, it seems like the camshaft will not go back into its original position of where it sits. It appears that I need to loosen the chain tensioner?? Its getting dark right now and i think i'm going to clean up and give it a rest for today.

Anyone have any input?

http://photos-h.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-sf2p/v300/139/25/68118519/n68118519_35430119_5883.jpg

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-02-2008, 07:50 PM
Take the chain tensioner out and you should be good

drftthatshit
08-02-2008, 08:29 PM
yep what he said yer chain tensioner is whats doin it just dont crank the moter without the tensioner relesed

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-02-2008, 08:43 PM
Yea if u crank it without the tensioner Ur timing will start skipping teeth like crazy

aNskY
08-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Yea if u crank it without the tensioner Ur timing will start skipping teeth like crazy



sure about that? because to set the tensioner after it's been out per FSM, youre supposed to crank the engine twice to set it (hence cranking without it being set at least twice)

why did you remove the cam to install your ras? did it just pop out of the back of the head because of the pressure from the chain?

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-03-2008, 04:20 PM
sure about that? because to set the tensioner after it's been out per FSM, youre supposed to crank the engine twice to set it (hence cranking without it being set at least twice)

why did you remove the cam to install your ras? did it just pop out of the back of the head because of the pressure from the chain?

I never turn my engine with the tensioner out. I was talking about cranking it also, not turning it by hand.. Of course u can slowly turn it by hand and It might not skip..

aNskY
08-03-2008, 04:23 PM
how do you release the tensioner?

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-03-2008, 04:30 PM
There is two 10mm nuts on the intake side of the engine right next to the Tps (Throttle position sensor).

aNskY
08-03-2008, 05:31 PM
Dude, i know how to remove it. i meant release the tensioner from the clip.... you have to push it all the way in and clip it with the clip on a "hinge", and bolt it in. how do you release the spring? the fsm clearly states to crank the engine by hand twice to bring it back to tdc which will release the hook. what do you do, poke at the clip with something?

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-03-2008, 06:49 PM
It will release it self from the clip, when u hand turn the motor

Silverbullet
08-03-2008, 07:14 PM
skipping teeth wasn't that big of an issue. I just realigned the cams. Now, im having trouble putting the tensioner back in lol. It seems like there is more to it than just pushing it in. Where can i find a copy of an FSM? Every link i used to DL it from is dead

or if someone can just explain the process as i search after i make this post.

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-03-2008, 07:20 PM
What trouble are u having with the tensioner? It's not going in far enough so you cant put the nuts to tighten it? That happened to me so my dad pushed it in with an extension while i tightened the nuts on

Silverbullet
08-03-2008, 07:24 PM
so all there is to it is just pushing it with enough force? i thought there might be some type of latching mechanism from the previous post made by you and anksy. i havn't actually gone out side to look at it since its getting dark today.

//edit:

From FRsport:
"Push the tensioner back in and use the retainer clip to hold the tensioner in place. Reinstall the tensioner. Remove the retainer clip to tension the timing chain. Hand crank the engine SLOWLY to allow the tensioner to fully tension the timing chain."

rb25_s13*CHUKI
08-03-2008, 08:48 PM
Oh yes if u haven't tensioned the tensioner yet it will not go back in period. There is a little clip that hooks onto a hinge. Look at the tensioner and there will be teeth and a locking tooth.

Push the locking tooth out and press the tensioner up against something until it reaches the point where you could hook the lil metal hook onto the hinge. I wish i knew how to post big pics, It would be alot easier explaining

drftthatshit
08-04-2008, 03:16 PM
the tensoiner has a hook with a hindge like a door you can put it in a vice or up against a wall press the tensioner in latch it the it will slide right into the side of the head when you get this far then you can put the cam back in place when you r ready to release the tensioner i have always found it easer to take a lonk skinny screwdriver and pop the latch this will zero out teeth jumping and fuck up your timming

moses
08-04-2008, 08:54 PM
hey sorry to jack your thread for a little but i was going to the ras install tomorrow and i just had a few questions.
first do i really have to empty out all the oil?
second if i dont have a torque wrench can i just snug it down?
and third i have never took off my valve cover so do i have reseal the whole valve cover or is the gasket enogh?
thanks and sorry about jacking your thread