PDA

View Full Version : Another SR Timing Question!


BiG MiKE86
06-30-2008, 02:49 PM
Sup guys me and a buddy were setting the timing on my SR over the weekend and we pretty much got it all lined up str8 but we started rotating it b4 we put in the CAS!? :faint: :duh: And the crank bolt isnt in tight enough to back spin the engine and reset it - What can I do? Should I keep spinning the engine to line up the marks again - or can I just set it to TDC and put in the CAS...

Also there is a some slack on the chain between the cam gears at certain parts... wtf? how can I fix this?

Redtop SR20DET

drftmark
06-30-2008, 03:06 PM
enthalpy has a timing setup info and what not.

http://www.rs-enthalpy.com/

go to tuning info, and scroll down to sr cam alignment procedure.

BiG MiKE86
06-30-2008, 06:19 PM
AWESOME! Thank You sir! + Rep for the awesome link!

fliprayzin240sx
06-30-2008, 09:50 PM
Put back to TDC, hopefully the chain marks are where theyre supposed to be so you can sleep better at night. Putting the engine back in TDC is the only way to get the CAS set in properly.

BiG MiKE86
07-01-2008, 12:49 AM
So just set the block to 0deg TDC and the cams @ 10 o clock and 1230ish? and set the CAS? or do I have to line up the colored links again?

fliprayzin240sx
07-01-2008, 06:10 PM
http://www.frsport.com/How-To-Set-Crank-Angle-Sensor--CAS--Timing-on-the-SR20DET-Engine_t_25.html

sidewaysil80
07-01-2008, 08:22 PM
so my computer is being homo and i cant open up the link for cam timing. after i set everything to tdc and got the teeth lined up am i supposed to rotate it until they line up with the special links again?

drftmark
07-13-2008, 11:47 PM
no. It will take billions of turns to get them to line up correctly. Just click on my link I posted earlier about having 20 links in between the points and what not.

aNskY
07-16-2008, 06:20 PM
so my computer is being homo and i cant open up the link for cam timing. after i set everything to tdc and got the teeth lined up am i supposed to rotate it until they line up with the special links again?


no you install the tensioner and just spin it twice to set the tension, you will end up back on tdc.

PhopsonNY
07-23-2008, 10:36 AM
If you have slack in your chain... be careful.

Make sure the chain is sitting on the chain guide properly before you insert the tensioner... the slack should disappear once the tensioner releases.

Had a problem with this myself and my car would not start... could not get timing right.

Good luck