PDA

View Full Version : Greasing New Oil Pump?


BiG MiKE86
06-25-2008, 03:25 PM
Hi Guys im in the process of assembling my SR20DET and I installed the oil pump/front cover and did not pack it with grease :hammer: so can I avoid removing it and just remove the oil strainer and pack it with grease thru that hole? What type of grease should I use? How much? thanks!

UNISA JECS
06-25-2008, 03:29 PM
I would pack just the gear set with engine assembly lube.

BiG MiKE86
06-25-2008, 08:29 PM
anyone else? Should I remove the pump?

Rnz520
06-26-2008, 12:28 AM
Just remove it, grease it, and put it back in. Do it right, the oil pump is the last thing you want to fail on your fresh motor, especially if you pack it like that, you might clog the oil pick up and boom you go...

Chrischeezer
06-26-2008, 09:08 AM
yup, open it up and pack it up with assembly lube.

BiG MiKE86
06-26-2008, 08:48 PM
So I pulled it back off and packed the gears with vasoline ;) thanks guys

sean350z
06-26-2008, 09:57 PM
You might want to prime it with some oil while it's off...squirt oil into hole where the pick up is and turn the gear with your fingers. Repeat as much as you want.

You shouldn't have to pack grease in the actual gear of the pump.

BiG MiKE86
06-27-2008, 08:40 AM
http://forums.nicoclub.com/zerothread/309576

gotta240
07-03-2008, 08:28 PM
I don't know about sr's, but the ka FSM only says to OIL the gears... Maybe sr's are different but the pumps look similar. I would be scared of occluding oil with heavy ass oil.

480sx
08-07-2008, 05:38 PM
Vasoline is not compatible with oil, so why would you use it in an oil pump. That stuff can get stuck in your oil galleys and sit there for the rest of your engines life.

Per FSM, you only need to coat the gears with oil.

Seriously, dont take your engine apart because you didnt prime your pump, thats the biggest freaken waist ever. All you need to do is D/C your injector wires and crank the engine for 10 or so seconds. This is going to get oil sucked up into your pump, and once you start it the engine will receive pressure in a moments time.

2_fast_240
08-08-2008, 02:33 AM
Ya, what the hell started this whole vasoline in the oil pump b.s.
When I assembled my motor. I just filled the pump w/ oil.

As you can see here... YouTube - sky high oil pressure (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhyV5_GdaiM)
I had plenty oil pressure lol.

blu808
08-08-2008, 02:42 AM
What in the fuck is going on here? Might as well put a beef gordita in there man.

2_fast_240
08-08-2008, 02:56 AM
^LMAO

Seriously though. This sucks for the o.p. He wasted time doing harm to his engine all because people spew off uneducated opinions and state them as fact.

Oh wait, nm. I just saw what engine he has. Its for the better.
Kidding, kidding. (I swear im not a hater)

murda-c
08-08-2008, 02:58 AM
I always heard that vaseline was compatible with regular dino oil but not synthetic.

2_fast_240
08-08-2008, 03:13 AM
^Either way. Its still unnecessary and a waste of time. And who doesnt run synthetic these days anyway?

Not to mention that vasoline could be used much more wisely.

:jerkit:

MyLevinGTZ
08-13-2008, 03:25 AM
i've never had trouble getting pressure with a new motor. i just assemble and pour some in the turbo feed line on the block. that will be sufficient to get a vacuum going in the system if you are worried about it. sucks you took the front cover off just for that....

make sure the gasket for your oil pickup/strainer is good and the bolts holding it to the pump are torqued.