PDA

View Full Version : starting problems. Ecu fried


Canaduh
04-15-2008, 02:15 PM
To start things off. The car has never give me problems, it's a 1990 s13, and i swapped in a DE motor 2 years ago. Basically, i went to 711 to get a drink, came back out, car wouldn't start. I noticed the fuel pump wasn't priming, so i "hot wired" the fuel pump to make sure it worked, and tried starting the car after i checked to make sure it was getting fuel. Just cranked and cranked.
So at this point i figured something with my ECU was the problem, and had another one laying around. Put the ECU in, and disconnected the "hot wired" fuel pump, and then the fuel pump wouldn't turn on still, but when i hot wired the fuel pump back up, the car started.

So I tore my old ecu apart, (i'll post pictures when i get home) and theres a connection fried, and i looked up the pinout diagram of the ECU and it said it's for the ignition switch. SO my car died again today and it's doing the exact same thing. I'm going to go look at the ECU but im sure it's the same problem.

I don't know where to start. i'm going to check the ignition switch to see if it's shorting out or anything. But if anyone else has any ideas that might help me out, i'd appreciate it a lot.:rawk:


Picture of where the ECU is fried on BOTH Ecu's....follow the fourth pin on the top from the left.
by my research, that's the ignition switch pin.



http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c240/Canaduh2/Picture003-1.jpg
http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c240/Canaduh2/Picture001.jpg

Canaduh
04-17-2008, 10:56 AM
Anyone have any suggestions?

surreybc
04-18-2008, 09:26 PM
you might be blowing the ecu when you jump the fuel pump. normally, things are protected by fuses. these kinds of problems dont get solved on the net. you need someone smart and experienced. id begin by changing the two green relays in relay box.

NismoSilvia270R
04-19-2008, 11:57 PM
i think mine did the same thing. never took the ecus apart, but I know i couldnt even get trouble codes from it. that was in a 93.

sorry, never figured it out, just swapped in different powertrain.

Canaduh
04-21-2008, 07:57 AM
But the thing is, the way i jumped the power was only from the fuse box. Because i think the reason it wasn't turning on was cause the wiring is broken somewhere along the way back to the fuel pump (i've checked most of what i could) and i just ran a wire exactly from where it would be coming anyways. The fuse is still there as well. The 2 green relays have been changed as well by the way.