PDA

View Full Version : power FC SR harness plug repinning


WILDACEX187
04-03-2008, 04:15 PM
ok well last year i noticed i had a harness problem on my redtop SR. i bought a blacktop harness from a member here and he supposedly repinned it for a redtop. well i put it in my car, used my redtop ecu and she started right up.

now im doing my build up and bought a power fc for a redtop. i plug it in and the power fc doesnt power up and the car doesn't start. i connect it to my friends redtop powered car and powers up and starts.

my question is what do i need to do with the plug on the harness to get it to work on the redtop power FC? is there anything i can do besides changing it out? i did some wire tucking and dont want to go through that again.

WILDACEX187
04-03-2008, 07:37 PM
searching online only yielded this result
http://209.85.173.104/search?q=cache:Ya2A57DGAZIJ:www.nissansilvia.com/forums/index.php%3Fshowtopic%3D293431+redtop+powerfc+on+a +blacktop&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=us&client=firefox-a
not much but at least it seems like i can make it work somehow. pls somebody help

WILDACEX187
04-04-2008, 02:11 AM
http://www.az240sx.org/tech/Pinout/
found this also but i cant make heads and tails out of it

WILDACEX187
04-04-2008, 11:08 PM
my harness was originally a j4 kouki blacktop harness that was repinned btw

aNskY
04-05-2008, 08:16 AM
i have done this... j5 pin to 63 pin. well actuLLy vice-versa as i have a type-x pfc
here is what you need to do

put pin 2 to pin 3 and pin 3 to pin 2 (coil2/tach)
5 goes to 8 (8unused on 63)
25 goes to 9 (9 unused on 63)

that should get you running (thats all the coil pack outputs)
let me see if i can find my origional diagrams because i think theres a couple more i have forgotten

aNskY
04-05-2008, 08:41 AM
here is the 63 pinout (this is the same pinout for every s13 except type-x) http://www.sr510.com/tech/SR20DET%20ECU%20S.doc

and here is the j5 pinout (type-x)
http://www.az240sx.org/tech/sr20det-ecu-pinout/S13ECUPinoutS13Blacktop.xls

that should do it for ya

WILDACEX187
04-05-2008, 12:07 PM
cool man thanx alot. i got another tip from somebody that im going to try also.

240cracker
04-05-2008, 12:16 PM
hey where did u find someone to repin????
im having someone change out my hole plug for my power fc cuz i broke one pin and its costing me almost $200

aNskY
04-05-2008, 08:20 PM
hey where did u find someone to repin????
im having someone change out my hole plug for my power fc cuz i broke one pin and its costing me almost $200
find someone? i just compared the 2 pinouts, snip snip chop solder..... done... way better than payign some joe 200 bones....

WILDACEX187
04-05-2008, 10:14 PM
200 bux? for that just get another damn harness. reason i just dont go out and get another harness is cuz i wire tucked my and alot of work went into it. otherwise i wouldve just changed it out.

Z U L8R
04-06-2008, 12:34 AM
muwhahahhahahhahhahaha

WILDACEX187
04-09-2008, 06:40 PM
ok so here's wat i've figured out so far. when i put on the redtop ecu (62) and test the eccs power (both) and ground with the ignition off they're all ground. the backup power (red) is constant power with ign off or on. with the ign ON with 62 ecu the eccs power (both) turn to positive and are weaker than the backup. the grounds are still grounds.


with the power fc with the ignition OFF the eccs power and the grounds are all grounds and the backup again is constant. with the ignition turned to ON the eccs power still remain ground. i think thats where the problem is. they dont switch to power when the ignition is turned on.

gnuproject
04-09-2008, 09:26 PM
I have the same problem with my car but I'm running a redtop in a S14. When I bought my pfc it only worked on my buddies car. I know when my harness was done it didn't have the efi relay. It works just fine with my 62 ecu w/o the relay but It wouldn't work on the power fc. Is your relay still connected for the efi? Could that even make any issue?

WILDACEX187
04-10-2008, 06:45 PM
i fixed it yay!!!

gnuproject
04-10-2008, 06:57 PM
So whatd u do to fix it?

WILDACEX187
04-10-2008, 10:44 PM
its complicated. hit me up on aim and i'll go over it.