PDA

View Full Version : Missing cam caps


gippy87
03-17-2008, 09:59 PM
Back when i didnt know to much about building engines i bought a sr20 head that was ported polished had brian crower springs and retainers i think gave it to a machine shop and had more work done to it. Well im finally ready to put it to good use and i find out i dont have the engines originaly cam caps obviously this is a problem. I do have a set of cam caps from the engines original head, is there anyway i can find out if these cam caps will work obviously they will bolt on but how can i be sure they wont cause a problem with the new cams??

i need tires
03-18-2008, 12:46 AM
Back when i didnt know to much about building engines i bought a sr20 head that was ported polished had brian crower springs and retainers i think gave it to a machine shop and had more work done to it. Well im finally ready to put it to good use and i find out i dont have the engines originaly cam caps obviously this is a problem. I do have a set of cam caps from the engines original head, is there anyway i can find out if these cam caps will work obviously they will bolt on but how can i be sure they wont cause a problem with the new cams??

Just get them checked at the machine shop to see if they will make the cams works. If not they will go right on no problem!

lazierhobo
03-19-2008, 01:56 PM
a machine shop will be able to check the tolerances....if they are off you can probably line hone it and get it to work as well....all things a good machine shop will be able to advise you on.

infinitexsound
03-25-2008, 05:47 PM
gyeah they use like a dial indicator for measuring the I.D. when the caps are installed.. id just use it .